Knit Lit

I’m so excited, I think I wet my pants!

I am severely sleep deprived, but I am done! 

2009-02-03-twist-1

Pattern:  Twist by Chic Knits

Yarn:    Cascade 220

Color:   Gris

Needles:   US 6 & 7

 

The sewing up when a whole lot smoother than I thought it would.  I tried it on sans collar at about 9:30 pm.  Hubby thought he was going to have to cart me off to the loony bin.  I was laughing out loud and dancing through the house saying, “look at me! I knit this!”  Once I was done with my little audition for Dancing with the Stars (’cause I know I am a rock star now), I picked up stitches and finished knitting the collar at 1:30 this morning.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted to follow the directions or not.  They did not seem to make any sense.  I trusted the designer and did it her way, except for stopping at 4″ instead of 5″, which I am totally fine with because it is perfect.   The collar and button bands still need to be blocked, but I don’t care. I am calling it done!  The blocking can wait until spring.

2009-02-03-twist-2

I was determined to have this sweater finished while it was still cold enough to wear it.  Since the groundhog apparently saw his shadow yesterday, I got my wish. 

2009-02-03-twist-3

Now, I don’t want anyone to think that this was a hard knit.  It wasn’t.  I oculd have finished it days ago.   Life just seemed to be getting in my way a lot there at the end.  Sigh.  It happens.  I don’t even care, though.  This is the first time I have knit an adult sweater that I am actually proud to show off and that fits me well.  

I have several sweaters from last summer that I wore quite a bit, but I never really liked them.  I needed something to cover my shoulders at work, so I wore them.  I think those sad unappreciated sweaters will be moving along to the Salvation Army this weekend, though.  I have confidence in my sweater making ability now.  I will not settle for anything I do not truly love. Yea, me!

I started working on Sweet Pea part Deux.  I like working with chunky yarn. Stuff goes so much quicker that way.  I’m already halfway up the back.  I’m also hoping I have enough left over to make a pair of these.  Cool, hu?  

Well, got to go dance around some more and show anyone who will stop for 30 seconds my brand new sweater, that I made all by myself! Hee!

February 3, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. YAY!!!!!! I’ve done that dance before. lol It looks fabulous!

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 3, 2009

  2. That really looks great.

    Comment by Buck | February 5, 2009

  3. WHOO HOO!!!! Doing the dance for you!!!! I can’t believe that this is handmade by your two talented hands! It’s AMAZING!!!! You GO GIRL!!!! You have every reason to be dancing and to be proud of yourself!! CONGRATS!!! I’m so proud of you!!!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 5, 2009

  4. […] I want to be committed to knitting 12 sweaters in 12 months this year (One month and one sweater down), I think I am going to have to take a shortcut this month.  Ironically, February will be the […]

    Pingback by It’s that time again « Knit Lit | February 12, 2009


Leave a comment