Knit Lit

Books, babies and brunch

The body is amazing!  When you are treating it poorly, sometimes it drop kicks you.  I have been getting caught up in things and not getting enough sleep.  So what did I do when I got home, BLAM, I fell instantly asleep.  Combined with the fact that so much and nothing much has been happening, this will be a random list of stuff post.

1.  I love reading fiction about knitters and yarn shops.  Combining two of my favorite things in one neat package is great.  As a matter of fact, I finished several in the bast couple of weeks.  I was pleasantly surprised by Casting Spells.  It was so entertaining that I was at the last couple of pages before I knew it.  That is the sign of a good book, when you become so engrossed in the story that you can’t put it down.   Knit Two is the sequel to Friday Night Knitting Club. It was a nice read.  I liked some characters’ story lines better than others.  Some of the dialogue was whinny.  I can not abide whining in my literature or my real life.  I understand sometimes it furthers a storey line or character, but at a point in needs to stop.  Other than that, it was a good read.  I also finished Monica Ferris’s Thai Die.   That woman can write a good book.  The store in the novel is a needlework store and discusses more than just knitting; however, the characters are so well written, they feel like real people.  Another author that is like that, Maggie Sefton.    I can’t wait for her new one, Dropped Dead Stitch. It does not come out until June, though. Pooh! Oh, here is another. And another.  The last one is a sequel to Death by Cashmere.  While the mystery was a little stilted, the descriptions of the knit shop and knitters were so intriguing that I didn’t mind the other.  It was a nice read.

2.   By cousin just gave birth to a beautiful baby boy, 7 lbs and 7 oz.  My other cousin, sister to the first cousin, just found out she is also expecting.  Normally, I would whip up a knitted sweater or hat, but I think I am going to make a natural baby product gift basket.  It is crazy to know how many chemicals are in baby products.

3.   I had the best lunch.  The food was so so, but the company was great great.  I feel like I talked too much, though.  I did get to see her finished Sweet Pea.  I had been doubting myself by starting up on my own, but her beautiful work made me sure I was on the right track.  I am almost done with the back.  If I had not fallen hard this evening, it would have been done tonight.  Hopefully I will be finished with this one by Sunday.  This is my goal.  Too ambitious? We are both trying to knit a sweater a month to beef up our hand-knit wardrobes.  Also, I think it would be nice to have a wonderful knit to show off on our trip to Rhinebeck.

I have to say that having the same goal with a friend is a nice way to keep me going.  I guess that is why we also made plans to go vegan for a week.  Now, in my 101 in 1,001 list, I said I wanted to go vegetarian for a week , but she talked me into going full out vegan.  I know  I will never be able to keep it up.  I like cheese too much, but I think I really need to start limiting my dairy intake.  Has anyone tried soymilk? What is it like?  I do know that I can not wait for spring.  I really want to make a significant change in my diet.  It makes it so much easier when you can get fruits and vegetables fresh and cheap.

4.  I am so bored at work.  I’m not sure if anyone notices I am there.  I was gone for 2 1/2 hours for lunch today, and no one seems to have noticed.  Though on the flip side, apparently no one can do anything.

5.   Cinnamon Roll Yoplait Light yogurt is gross.

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | Books, Family, Friends, Knitting

2 Comments »

  1. Funny Meez!!

    I guess Boy Child/Grandson Meez is fussing because he has to clean his room?!!! ahhhh. Memories!!

    Soymilk isn’t bad. It does taste sweet to me though. Soy protein powder is NASTY! At least the one I tried.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 6, 2009

  2. […] crave it often, and I would love to be able to save some money on groceries.  As I’ve mentioned before, Mrs. S and I decided to go full out vegan for 1 week.  That week starts Monday.  I’m a […]

    Pingback by Knit Lit | February 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

