Knit Lit

It’s that time again

Yes, the new Interweave Knits magazine came in the mail today.  Boy, oh, boy!  There is some great stuff in there! For once there are spring patterns that I would actually knit!

2009-02-12-diminishing-rib-cardigan 2009-02-12-millefiori-cardigan 2009-02-12-whisper-cardigan

They are great, aren’t they?  It makes me want to start right this very second.  The only thing that is stopping me is my lack of light weight yarn.  I have a birthday coming up, and WEBS has an anniversary sale coming up.  Maybe the two will conspire to make these happen!

While I want to be committed to knitting 12 sweaters in 12 months this year (One month and one sweater down), I think I am going to have to take a shortcut this month.  Ironically, February will be the month to finish up my Lady February Sweater. Even though the Sweat Pea knits up fast, the month is going by even faster.  I guess it doesn’t help that I’m working on other non-sweater projects.

2009-02-12-caa-scarf

This is a scarf for Boss #1 who lost his original in Paris last year.   It is extremely hard to find an simple and easy manly scarf pattern.  I also wanted a simple pattern that would allow the yarn to shine.  I’m using Cascade’s Eco Alpaca held double.  This yarn is uber soft! I love knitting with it and probably use it again.  I’m also afraid that even with the 220 yard skeins, I don’t think I will be able to make a traditional scarf.  I think in the end I will make two button holes on one end and use chocolate leather buttons to make something between a cowl and a scarf.  I think it will be good.

I also want to start on some socks from my new book.  Before I start on those, I think I’m going to be compelled to make  these.  I can not even begin to express how cute I think these are.  I’m on the verge of gushing!  I think I’m going to use the leftover Cascade 220 from the Twist.  Oh! I’m excited!

PS  Yes, Mom, I’m working on your mitts, too.

February 12, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting, Magazines, Work, Yarn

2 Comments »

  1. Precious Owl mittens. I put those in my mile long list of “must knit these”!

    Comment by suzanne | February 13, 2009

  2. WHO HOO!!!! I guess that means that I am off the naughty list!!!!! YAY!!!

    PS….love the sweaters and thanks for the, not so subtle, hint for birthday! :o)

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

