Knit Lit

Love, Socks & Bread

Okay. So I’ve been a bad little knitblogger.  I’m sorry.  It seems like I can’t keep my life organized lately.  All that mental energy needs to be devoted to work.  That is all I can manage.  As penance, I’ll try to catch you guys up on things that have been going on lately.

 

Do you remember making Valentine’s mail boxes in grade school.  You know, the ones you set on your desk and watched like a hawk hoping that guy would put a card in it?  ‘Cause if he did, you were like “going out.”  Remember?  Well, Boy Child needed to make one for his class’ party, and Hubby decided it would be a great family project.

 

It was so much fun!  I’d forgotten how much I enjoy making school projects.

 

I finished Grandmamma’s very first pair of hand knit socks.

 

I finally took photos of them, and mailed them off.  I received a call from her the other day. She loves them, and I couldn’t be more happy!

 

I finally broke down and bought myself a bread maker.  I wanted to try all the goodies out, so I made the basic recipe that comes with the instruction book.

 

It came out well.  Too bad we don’t eat white bread.  My luck since then has not been great.  I’ve made attempted to make whole wheat bread three times.  It did not go so well.  I was so upset I didn’t even take a picture.  I did make cinnamon swirl bread.  Boy child loved it & gobbled up two whole loaves.  Hubby spit his out.  Sigh.  I’m starting to wonder if I made a mistake.  I’m going to give it a couple more tries using recipes from this book.  I’m hoping it is just user error.  I love the smell and taste of fresh baked bread.  I also want to save a few $$ and I like knowing what is going into my food.

 

Much more to come … later.

February 24, 2010 - Posted by | Books, Boy Child, Cooking, Events, Family, Finished, Knitting

3 Comments »

  1. OMG!! The SOCKS ROCK!!!!!! I see why she loves them so much!! WELL DONE!

    The Valentine Box is soooooo cute!!! I DO remember the projects and how much fun they were! I miss them! Thanks for the memory!

    Bread! I can’t BELIEVE hubby spit BREAD out!!!!! H@%$ must have frozen over!!! hehehe I can’t believe that the wheat is giving you so much problem. Seems like I remember there is one ingrediant that you can add to make it lighter – less dense. Let me see if I can find that. I still have my bread making cookbook. What kinda machine? Don’t give up on it though. When you find that perfect recipe, it will have been worth the journey.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 25, 2010

  2. We did Valentine’s boxes for the kids last year. We were supposed to use a shoe box, so I made sure I saved one specifically for that project. Came to find out (2 days before the project was needed) that the hubby had “de-cluttered” and thrown it away. Gah.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 25, 2010

  3. I have and incredible whole wheat recipe I will email you. My sister gave it to me and it is wonderful. Don’t give up on the bread machine – nothing, I mean NOTHING beats the smell of homemade bread!

    Comment by suzanne | February 26, 2010


Leave a Reply

