Knit Lit

Disappointment

For the first time since I have been knitting, my disappointment with Interweave Knits overwhelms me.  I saw a few patterns from the Spring 2010 issue pop up on Ravelry, so I clicked over to their website to take a look.  Now, to be fair, I love IK’s website.  I appreciate the extra photos that show all sides to the knit.  For some reason, I prefer photos to the video Vogue Knitting does; but I’m strange that way and is beside the point.  As I was scrolling through, my mouth dropped open.  There is not one patter I would knit.  Not. One. Pattern.  I expect this from Vogue, but not IK.  Oh the disappointment!

The Ringlet Tank is okay.  So is the Tissue Cardigan.  But nothing jumps out at me as “have to knit.”   Even worse, I can think of a bunch of knits in my queue that I’m more excited about. Like the Gallery Jacket (Rav link), Pintuck Tee (Rav link), or the Man’s Cable Cardigan (scroll down under Boy Meets Purl, the brown one on the left).  Maybe the articles will be outstanding.  Or maybe, I will grow to love the new patterns after my infatuation with other things recedes.  That does happen with me, so only time will tell.

To end on a happier note, I can tell you what doesn’t disappoint – SNOW!  I LOVE snow!  I love snow so much that even the mention of snow flurries gets me excited.  Here in Alabama, snow is an anomaly, so the recent abundance is cause for celebration to me.  I love looking at it.  I love watching it fall.  I love how it makes everything look pretty.  I love, love, love snow!  I’ll even go as far to hope it keeps up for awhile longer.  I LOVE SNOW!

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | favorites, Knitting, Magazines

5 Comments »

  1. Please come live near me. It snowed Monday and Tuesday this week and it was so cold and icy that Sweetie has had to drive me to work this week.
    You can have all my snow, I will gladly share it with you.

    Comment by suzanne | February 17, 2010

  2. Okay, I just went and looked at IK and I think it is so funny that you don’t really like many of the patterns, but
    I LOVE the:
    Double V cardigan
    Aran Necklace Camisole
    Lattice and Hollow Cardigan
    Transverse Cardigan
    Ringlet tank
    Betty’s Tee
    Tissue Cardigan
    Corona Camisole

    I am glad we are friends, you keep it interesting!

    Comment by suzanne | February 17, 2010

  3. Please join us on Facebook – we have some of the patterns from VK Spring shown there. Hopefully you will like them.

    Trisha

    Comment by trish | February 17, 2010

  4. I am SOOOOO totally with you on the snow!!! I could be heard across 2 counties (albeit by text)singing “Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it SNOW!!!!! I got 4 hours sleep watching for it and up by 4:30 hoping for enough to warrant a Snow Day from work! I was not disappointed! I grabbed camera and was out the door before sunrise! OH! THE JOY!!! Wish you could have been here to have enjoyed it with me!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 17, 2010

  5. I haven’t had a chance to look at it yet. I think I renewed my subscription, so hopefully it’ll be in the mailbox soon.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 17, 2010


Leave a Reply

