Knit Lit

Rhinebeck, Part 1

Way back in January, I invited Mrs. S to go to Rhinebeck.  When she accepted, I began planning and waiting.  The planning was so much easier than the waiting, let me tell you!  We decided to fly out of Huntsville instead of Birmingham early Friday morning.  That ended up being a good choice. 

When we got to the airport, we discovered that our plane had been delayed so long that we were going to miss our connecting flight in Atlanta.  The wonderful guy who was working the Delta counter quickly got us on another fight through Cincinnati and had us arriving in Albany only 50 minutes later than our original flight.

 101_3280

Once we arrived in Cincinnati, we were again treated to  a delayed flight. 

101_3285

No worries, though.  We had knitting and coffee.

101_3286

Once we were on our way, we arrived in Albany and picked up our car.  Mom had missed her connection in Atlanta, though. We had a couple of hours before her flight arrived, so we checked out a nearby yarn shop and had a late lunch.  We picked up Mom and headed down to Rhinebeck. 

IMG_4788

Mom had made reservations at Le Petit Bistro Friday night.  It was definitely a night of new food experiences.

IMG_4776

Escargot and fresh picked wild mushrooms for appetizers.

IMG_4777

Puffer Fish Tails over spinach and rice for dinner.

I was also able to finally, after 2 1/2 years, find and eat a good Creme Brule.  They also had homemade ice cream.  I forced Mom to get the pumpkin flavor.  Oh. My.Goodness! That was the best ice cream I have ever eaten! Yummy!  I can not say enough about this restaurant.  The food was superb.  The service was impeccable.  I would highly recommend going there anytime you are in Rhinebeck.  I know I will.

Tomorrow: the festival!

 

November 2, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Events, Family, Knitters, Knitting, Vacation, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. Squeeeee!!!!!! I love seeing us together in pictures!

    Okay I must admit I have never been the short person in a picture and I think it is great you both are tall beauties!

    Comment by suzanne | November 2, 2009

  2. […] Rhinebeck, Part 2 Part 1 […]

    Pingback by Rhinebeck, Part 2 « Knit Lit | November 3, 2009

  3. So jealous! It looks like you had a fabulous time! :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | November 3, 2009

  4. […] Rhinebeck, Part 4 Part 1 […]

    Pingback by Rhinebeck, Part 4 « Knit Lit | November 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

