Knit Lit

The busiest weekend ever!

Normally, I reserve the right to do nothing on my weekends.  I contend that I work all week and that the weekend should be left alone.   Most weekends I live by this rule; however, this past weekend got by me.  I’m not sure how it happened.  Looking back, I became one of those parents that book activities for their children every moment of every single day.  Only I am both the mom and the child!

Saturday

Saturday brought Mrs. S into my life.  I got up early and went to check out the new Joanne Fabric store.  It opened this past Friday, and I wanted to check it out.  I made it over right as the store opened.  I picked up some knit fabric in great fall colors.  I have trouble finding dresses that are long enough to cover my tush.  When I saw that I could make my own for $12, I couldn’t resist.  I also snatched up a great blue and brown plaid to make a jumper.  I can not wait for it to get cold so I can wear it!

 Once Mrs. S made it to Birmingham, I dashed over to Anthropologie to help pick out scarves.  I am a Genius at shopping for other people!  I urged quite strongly that Mrs. S try on a sweater.  Namely this one.

 

910225_049_b

 

I love, love, love this sweater!  Sadly, I can not wear this color green.  I makes me look jaundice.  Hopwever, with her great red hair and pale skin, it looks great on Mrs. S.  Now, I know she only tried this on to please me, but I don’t care.  She looked sooo good in it!  She needed no convincing, and it was purchased with a smile.

After that, we made a quick trip to the LYS.  Surprisingly, I purchased not a single skein or hank of yarn.  Hubby was thrilled. I did pick up a new Rowan booklet.  I did live a little through my shopping guru.  She is a yarn shopping whirl wind!  I am envious!  She got some GREAT stuff!

Next, we made our way to P.F. Changs where I was treated to a great lunch.  I’ve never had lettuce wraps before.  Let me tell you something, I am addicted now!  I have thought about those wraps not every second of the day because yarn takes that spot, but I think about it alot!

From there we made a stop at the pet store on behalf of Mrs. S’ new kitty Harry and back to Joanne Fabrics.  We rounded off the visit with a trip to Starbuck’s for coffee and a little knitting.  Oh.My.Word.  The pumpkin spice latte was so good! I want one all the time now.   You know, besides the lettuce wraps.  Strange combo but it works for me.  I, as usual, talked nonstop.  I think I need to tape my lips shut on our next visit.  It was such a great visit.  I can’t wait for our Rhinebeck Trip! Yea!

Sunday

My church has set up  college style small groups that allows people with like interests and lives to study in groups together.  Last I checked, there were 60+ groups to choose from.  I decided on two! 

9:00 – 10:30 am – New Testament Survey

11:00 am – 12:30 pm – Church

1:00  – 1:30 pm – lunch

1:30 – 2:30 pm – hanging out

2:30 – 4:30 pm – nap

5:00 – 5:30 pm – hanging out

5:30 – 7:00 pm – needlework group

7:00 pm – 12:00 am – computer, knitting, working on new quilt top

I’m pooped!

September 14, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Fabric, Faith, Friends, Knitting, Yarn

2 Comments »

  1. I had a super great time too!
    Mrs S.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | September 15, 2009

  2. That’s a gorgeous sweater! And I LOVE those lettuce wraps at PF Changs. The hubby isn’t a big fan, though, so I don’t get them that often.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | September 15, 2009


Leave a Reply

