Knit Lit

Friday on Saturday and a FO

Friday Fill-ins, Saturday edition:

1.   I feel like this day never happened.

2.   Reading is always fun.

3.   Right now, I can hear these things: Hubby typing away on the computer and the rain blowing stuff onto the roof.

4.   It’s a three day weekend and I’m glad I had today to catch up on sleep.

5.   The last time I cut my hair short was a disaster.

6.   I have no plans for this Labor day weekend.

7.   And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to knitting, tomorrow my plans include church, sewing & grocery shopping and Sunday Monday, I want to spend time with Hubby!

Finished project #2:

2009-09-04 Branch cardi 1

This is the Branching Cable Cardigan from Loop-d-Loop by Teva Durham Volume 5 SIGNATURE STYLE Collection. I used the yarn called for in the pattern, Granite by Loop-d-Loop.  The yarn really is remarkable.  It’s soft and light and fluffy just like a knitting with a cloud.

2009-09-04 Branch cardi 2

The pattern is very well written and easy to follow.  The only problem I had was with fitting the sleeves into the body.  The sleeve shaping is supposed to form a small saddle shoulder inset; however, my row gauge must have been way off, because the caps of my sleeves were too short.  I really did not feel like pulling out the sleeves (you know having sewn them most of the way in), so I just added a couple more rows to the top before I sewed them in.  This kinda fixed it.  When I put it on, my shoulders kinda pull at the saddle.  It is not the most flattering thing, but I’m going to try to live with it for awhile.  I can always fix it later if it truly bothers me.

2009-09-04 Branch cardi 3

It needs a good blocking.  I’m hoping it will relax a little once it has a bath.  On the other hand, I’m really scared to do it.  I’m afraid the yarn will loose its fluffy lightness if I do it.  Sigh. Maybe I can wait for a braver knitter to try it first. I just hope they work quickly.  I want to wear it to Rhinebeck.

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Friday Fill-in, Knitting, Yarn

1 Comment »

  1. It’s gorgeous! I know what you mean about being scared of blocking. I still haven’t wet down my CPH. Maybe one day I’ll get up the nerve to do it. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | September 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

