Knit Lit

Sidecar, not just a cocktail

September’s sweater is the Sidecar Jacket from Spud and Chloe.  This pattern was purchased specifically because the gauge listed exactly matched what I was knitting up while working on the London Calling cardigan.  And because the cables are wicked cool.

2009-09-03 Sidecar 1

The yarn is Cascade 109 Bulky in color aubergine.  I must say, the yarn was pretty basic.  It worked up like the 220, of course, only thicker.  Also, it improved immensely.  I’m not sure why I’m always surprised what a good blocking can do. It does, though. Every single time!
2009-09-03 Sidecar 2

The pattern is very clearly written.  The only complaint I have is sewing the sleeves to the body.  since you knit the body and sleeves from the bottom up, you have to knit a flat piece of knitting to round arm holes.  It was not fun. I think I did a good job.

2009-09-03 Sidecar 3

As you can see, I made a few modifications.  First, I did not knit the two side lapels.  I started knitting them, but they were coming out a little small.  They looked funny, so I left them off.   Second, I only knit two button holes instead of four.  The plan was to sew the two remaining buttons to the front.  However, I only had two that I liked, and I also liked it being more on the sweater side than on the jacket side.   Third, like all patterns, I lengthened the sleeves.  Overall, I really enjoyed knitting this.  It took 15 days to finish.  It would have been done quicker, but other projects got in the way; and it was put aside for several days.  I would definitely recommend it.

Coming up: August’s sweater – Branching Cable Cardigan

September 3, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Yarn

5 Comments »

  1. Wow. Just…wow. Can you adopt me so that I you might knit me pretty sweaters for fall/winter? Wow.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | September 3, 2009

  2. that really looks great.
    when you have a second google “people of walmart”. I know you and Jim have seen all these already.

    Comment by Papa Buck | September 4, 2009

  3. I totally agree with Bubbleknits! WOW! WOW! WOW! You are totally amazing. Beautiful!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | September 4, 2009

  4. That is your color! You are gonna be smokin’ hot in that!!!!!
    I can’t wait to see u next week!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | September 5, 2009

  5. I really love this jacket and I’ve been wanting to get the pattern. How did you get it? I checked the Spud and Chloe website and haven’t a clue as to how to get the pattern.

    Comment by Breanne | May 31, 2010


Leave a Reply

