Knit Lit

Knit, knit, knit

I have finished my Trina Cardigan.

2009-08-18 Trina Cardigan 1

Yarn: Louet Riverstone Worsted

Color: Emerald

Started: August 2, 2009

Finished: August 17, 2009

2009-08-18 Trina Cardigan 2

I learned a few things about my knitting preferences while knitting Trina.  First, if I’m going to knit in the round, I much prefer the pattern to be knit from the top down.  This one is knit from the bottom up.

2009-08-18 Trina Cardigan 4

Second, I like the look of a turned hem; however, I find it more difficult to sew down live stitches.  If I were to knit this again, I would have bound off the neck before I stitched them down.

2009-08-18 Trina Cardigan 3

I got to use my great big button, which I love.  However, I’m not feeling the turtleneck.  When I put it on, the body fits like a dream, but the neck is really too big.  I planned on having a couple of snaps for security, but I think I will stick with the one right under the button.  On me, the front crossed in an a-line.  Not particularly flattering on me, but it is super warm.  I’m just about caught up with my sweater knitting.  Trina counts as July’s sweater.

I’ve already started August’s sweater.  I stopped in at one of my LYS on Saturday.  She had just gotten in some new yarn from Tahki Stacy Charles.  While I am not usually a big fan of bulky yarn (unless it is on a super sale), this one was so light! I picked up the swatch she had and it was lighter than a feather, not to mention SOFT!  Oh my!  I was impressed, but I didn’t I have to have it.  Well, at least until I saw the pattern book.  I spotted this pattern:

2009-08-18 Branching Cable Cardigan 1

I immediately snatched up both the book and the yarn.

2009-08-18 Granite Yarn

The yarn is called Granite.  It is 95% merino wool and 5% nylon.  The nylon content is the stripe you see in the yarn (bottom left).  It is a dream to work with.  It looks and feels like unspun wool that has been stitched down the middle.  I know it sounds strange, but it is uber soft (I can’t say that enough!)  I cast on last night and simply can not put it down!

2009-08-18 Granite Cardigan

I have another pattern repeat since I took that photo this morning.  Yum!  At this rate, I’ll have August’s sweater done before the end of the month.

So they don’t feel bad, I’ll give you a glimpse of the other projects I’ve thrown aside for my love of the new cardigan.

2009-08-18 Shawl 1

2009-08-18 Shawl 2

This yarn was gifted to me by the lovely Mrs. S.  It is a dream to knit, soft and drapey.  It came with a pattern, but after starting it 4-5 times, I still couldn’t get it right.  So, I decided to invent my own pattern.  It gives the same affect as the original pattern, but it is not reversible.  I don’t care, though.  I love it.

2009-08-18 Indian Summer Sock 1

2009-08-18 Indian Summer Sock 2

This is the first sock in what will be a pair of knee highs.  I did all kinds of back work, too.  I printed a graphic of a tall sock.  I took 9 different measurements.  I swatched, calculated my stitches and wrote a pattern.  I really, really hope it works out.  I really need a good  pair of socks to wear under my boots this winter.  I’m using Cascade Heritage yarn I got over at the Loopy Ewe.  Depending on how these wash and wear, I think this will be my new go-to sock yarn.  There is over 400 yards in one hank; and at $12 a hank, it is a terrific deal.

August 18, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. Question please: What size needle are you using for your Granite sweater? I didn’t understand your comment on Ravelry. Did you get 10 st/4in on size 13? Was that the expected gauge? Thanks

    Comment by suzanne | August 19, 2009

  2. Gorgeous! You’re going to have all sorts of nice winter garments. :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | August 21, 2009

  3. I’ll bet you can’t wait for cold weather.

    Comment by Buck | August 24, 2009

  4. This sweater is BEAUTIFUL! OMG! It looks like you got it from a highend store.

    I like the idea of kneehigh socks. Can’t wait to see how they turn out and how they wear without the spandex to help keep them up. In my minds eye I can definately see you in them! Too cute!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | August 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

