Knit Lit

My eyes are bigger than my knitting time

I was looking at the new patterns on Ravelry a few days ago and noticed that Classic Elite had new pattern booklets up.  Let me tell you, I was worried about my fall knitting after seeing the new Vogue and IK.  Not any more.  I LOVE these books!  I could not wait for them to arrive in my LYS, so I ordered directly from the CE site.  Today, I would have kissed the mail man had I not been at lunch when he dropped them off! Yea!  I immediately made a list of what I wanted to knit.  See my list (click on book name for link to CE site):

Snow Day

  1. Pom Pom Hat
  2. Embroidered Cardigan
  3. Fair Isle Yoke Pullover     (Mom, I think I’m going to use the Guanaco yarn we picked up in Gatlinburg back in March)
  4. Button Little Cardigan
  5. Long –Neck Vest

 

Winter Whimsy

  1. Drop Stitch Dress
  2. Embroidered Button Jacket
  3. Flower Border Cardigan

 

Saturday Afternoon

  1. Lily of the Valley Cardigan
  2. Little Ties Jacket
  3. Back Lace Panel Cardigan *
  4. Tuck Bodice Cardigan

 

Sunday Brunch

  1. Lace Bodice Cardigan
  2. Curved Front Cardigan
  3. Easy Dress
  4. Lace Pullover
  5. Long Socks

 

Make it Modern

  1. Girl-Tank
  2. Smock Top
  3. Button-up Shrug
  4. Feather & Fan Cardigan

 

Geez!  I know I am delusional, but I can’t help it!  I want to knit every one of them.  Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I did narrow this list down to what I really thought I would knit.  The list was much longer before, though I’m not exactly sure how.  The designs are so great!  How could anyone not want to knit everything?

I will say That I was surprised at how many of these were designed by Pam Allen.  I’ve bolded her designs on my list.

 

*  This will be started as soon as I’ve finished up my current cardigan.  I plan to use Berocco’s new vintage wool.  It has a great heathered look to it that will contast nicely with the lace panel.  I really hope I like this yarn.  I did not know until I was checking out that it had acrylic content.  It feels like 100% wool, not that I will mind being able to toss it into the washing machine.

August 6, 2009 - Posted by | Books, Knitting, Magazines, Yarn

1 Comment »

  1. You certainly have an eye for FF (fabulous fashion)

    Oh! I think that (Fair Isle Yoke Pullover) is the PERFECT pattern for that yarn.

    OMG! The Drop Stitch Dress is to die for!!! I wish I were still young enough for that one! HOT! HOT! HOT!! In a good way!

    I also like the Cabled Shrug and Hooded Scarf in Snow Days.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | August 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

