Knit Lit

Lists

friday-fill-in

1.   It’s time for me to buy a new sewing machine! ( I already have it picked out, too! I’m hoping I have enough reward points on my credit card to pay for most of it.)

2.   Yarn shops; it’s not a bad place for meeting really great friends.

3.   I must be crazy to take on any more crafty endeavors.

 
4.   My Heavenly Father’s love is the best thing I have ever known. (Sorry to swipe your answer Mrs. S, but it’s true!  I didn’t think you would mind.)

5.   My husband is simply my best friend in the whole world.

6.   The last time I laughed really loudly was the last time I accidentally stabbed Hubby with a knitting needle. (Not sure why I found this so funny, but I almost wet myself.)

7.   And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to knitting on the couch, tomorrow my plans include visiting with Mrs. S and Sunday, I want to rest!

*******************************************

1.   I started a new knitting project.  Since I decided my last cardigan was just not working for me (even though it was about 1/3 complete), I needed a quick knit garment to stay in contention for my 12 in 12 group.  I decided on the London Cardigan.  I’m working mine up in Cascade 128 in an aubergine color.  I knew this was going to be a chunky knit, but it really is working up more as a jacket than a cardigan.  This is fine with me.  I plan to take it to Rhinebeck, so it may end up taking the place of my wool coat which is quite heavy.   So far, this one is surprisingly light for the warmth it will provide.  The best part is that I got the yarn on sale at WEBS!

2.  I really want to be working on a different project.  The other day when I was shopping with Mrs. S at our LYS, I found a great pattern by Spud & Chloe.  It was their Uptown Downtowncoat.   Oh my! This coat is gorgeous!  I bought the pattern without a thought.  The yarn on the other hand was a little too rich for my pocketbook.  Luckily, I have several hanks of Cascade 220 in that rich brown sitting in my stash.  I was able to match two of the colors with the Cascade they had on hand.  I’ve ordered the third from the Loopy Ewe (GREAT prices, yarn & people!), and hope it will be in next week.  Yes, I know I could start on the back, now.  I also know I need to keep on track, so it will be London Calling until it’s done.   Though it will make me knit faster just so I can get to this one quicker!

3.  I have a low tolerance for “stupid” people.  I have been this way as long as I can remember.  I think people have reached a point that everything is handed to them on a platter, and they no longer feel the need to think for themselves.  Think, people! Think before you speak! While we are at it, there is no need to speak all the time.  It is okay to be both silent and let others speak.  Shhhh. It might even help you think.

4.  For some reason, by past obsession with Big Brother has come back in full force.  Seriously!  I can not stop watching it.  I don’t even like reality TV!

5.  Yarn.  While I was ordering the last hank of Cascade for the Up/Down town cardigan, I also slipped into my order enough skeins to whip up the Every Way Wrap I mentioned in the last post.  I went home and found my IK sitting on the couch waiting for me.  Thank you Hubby! (smack!) I couldn’t resist.  I’m planning on working it up in a muted burnt ginger. Yum!

 

That’s all for now. Hope you guys have a great weekend.

July 31, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Fill-in, Friends, Gripes, Knitters, Knitting, Magazines, Random, Uncategorized, Yarn

2 Comments »

  1. Ooooh! I love that Uptown Downtown Coat! I might have to check that out when I run by the LYS tomorrow. The London Calling jacket is pretty, too. :-) Hope you have a good weekend!

    Comment by Bubblesknits | July 31, 2009

  2. I am so excited about coming to see you that I woke up at 2:30am!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | August 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

