Knit Lit

Birthday weekend

Sunday was Boy child’s 10th birthday!  I can not believe it was ten years ago that he was born.  I remember that day so clearly.  It feels like it was yesterday.  Not that it is a surprise to anyone who knows him, but I must say that he is the best child a mother could ever ask for.  He is super smart, talented, focused, sweet, engaging, easygoing, thoughtful, polite, and funny.  Honestly, I could go on for days about how wonderful my kid is, but everyone knows this!  Since I have been planning his celebration, I began to take a look back at his life, and I realized for the first time that he is a real live person.  I know that sounds a bit odd.  But, if you think about it, we really don’t start to think of people as people until they are grown up.  You have to take care of babies and children.  It’s hard to think of children as being their own person until they can begin to take care of themselves.  That is were I am.  Boy Child is his own person, and I love him more than I can say.

 

We celebrated on Saturday by taking Boy Child and 11 of his cousins and friends to play laser tag.  They had a blast.  We had pizza and cupcakes.  The kids played arcade games in between laser tag games.  After that, we went back home were we had a family party.  My baby brother has the same birthday as Boy Child, so the family usually gathers to celebrate.  It has been a couple of years since my grandparents have been able to come over.  They are missionaries that spend most of the year in Pakistan.  They always bring gifts back.  The vest, seen here, was a gift.  Looks good, no?  Even Boy Child got one of his very own.

DSC03310

We had homemade tacos with homemade salsa.   I played with my two-year-old nephew all day and had a blast!  Mom made two cakes for the birthday boys.

  

 2009-07-27 Dragon cake

 Boy Child’s cake.

 

 2009-07-27 Brother Cake

 Baby Brother’s cake.

  

 

Yesterday was Hubby’s graduation.  It was nice.  I did discover, too late to fix it, that my beautiful dress was a little on the short side.  Sigh.  It’s not uncomfortable, but it is shorter than anything I’ve worn since Kendall was born.  It is lovelier in person than it is in the photo. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone.  We also celebrated my MIL’s birthday, which, as it happens, is the same day as Boy Child and Baby Brother.  We went out to eat.  It was nice except for Hoky Poky the clown blasting fake pop music and dancing around.  Shudder.

 

 

I’ve received my new Vogue Knitting in the mail.  I was not impressed with any of the sweater patterns.  Again, it feels like the designers fail to realize that models and those just as thin make up a very small portion of the population.  Cables running up the middle of the front of a pullover and big bobbles are not the most flattering items on less than perfect bodies.  There were a few hat patterns that are cute, though.

 

The preview of Interweave Knits is also up.  The patterns are not quite as bad as Vogue, but most are not to my taste.  The Everyday Wrap is awesome, though.  I think it is going to get knit very soon.  I also like Rosamund’s Cardigan, though I would make it long sleeve.

 

In my knitting news, I finished the back and the left side of my Ursa cardigan before I decided that I didn’t really like it.  I’ve decided to frog it and find another better suited pattern.  This seriously puts me behind on my 12 sweaters in 12 months goal.  I think I see chunky knits in my future. 

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | Birthday, Boy Child, Family, Knitting, Magazines

1 Comment »

  1. Oooohhhhhhhh!!!! I really like the Everyday Wrap!!! On the Rosemund’s Cardigan? I definately agree with the long sleeve idea. I think these cap sleeves makes her arms look huge. I love lovelove the a-symetrical (sp?) look with big buttons. YUM! I’m not sure about the cabling around the back neckline. It would probably be more balanced with the longer sleeve Anyway….it would look good on you regardless. You have the sholders to wear that.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | July 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

