Knit Lit

Sewing, Knitting and Boot Camp

I am still working on the Harry Potter socks for Boy Child.  They are coming along swimmingly.  I should also finish Blue Sahara tonight.  I’ll try to get pictures up soon.  I haven’t had a chance to try it on, so I hope it will work out.   I think after this one, Im going to transfer to winter knits for our trip to Rhineback. 

 

A week or so ago,  I came across the greatest fabric I have ever seen.   It is a collection called Lantern Bloomby Laura Gunn.  I ordered  a yard of several of the prints so I can make a quilt.  Once I saw how much extra fabric I was going to have, I decided to make a lap blanket for the couch.  I know I said on my 101 in 1,001 I wanted to knit one, but I think I’m going to sub this sewn one.   Here is what I’ve got so far.

 

101_3277

 

This was me pinning everything together.  I machine sewed where each different fabric meets.  Instead of matching quilting the remainder of the quilt, I am planning on hand quilting along the designs.  I’m going to change the thread color depending on the fabric.  That way, there will be a design on both sides.  I love it!  I lay it across my lap as I’m quilting, so it keeps the chill off at the same time. 

 

I’ve also discovered a new fitness blog, Oh She Glows.  Today, she is starting a one month boot camp.  I think I’m going to try it.  I need something to kick me back into gear with a healthy lifestyle.  She talks often about her “Green Monsters.”  They are smoothies using greens (spinach, kale, ect) and fruit.  There is thought that the nutrients get lost when they are cooked and are too difficult for out bodies to extract just through chewing.  During the process of liquefying for a smoothie, the cell walls are broken down for better absorption.  This morning, I had my first one – spinach, banana, strawberries and soy milk.   It was pretty good.  I did not have to add any sweetener.  It kept me full for 4 hours and fulfilled 3 servings of fruit & vegetables.   I think I will probably stick with this one.  I’m hoping it will get me in the mood to stay healthy all day.  We’ll see.

July 1, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Bloggers, Boy Child, Fabric, Green, Knitting, Sewing

2 Comments »

  1. One of the girls at the gym does something similar to the GREEN MONSTER. I don’t think she makes hers from scratch though. I’ll have to pass along the recipe.

    I look forward to seeing the lap blanket in person. I love that you are trying so many new things. I think it’s the best feeling to do things for the first time, wheither they are successful or not. It’s a journey and the experience.

    You GO GIRL!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | July 1, 2009

  2. May I have that recipe, sounds wonderful!
    You are talented, I love how you are expressing your art in so many different mediums.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | July 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

