Knit Lit

My Day at the Spa

Do you remember those papers you had to write in grade school?  You know, the ones where the teacher asks you to write about what you did last summer.  That is kinda how I feel about this post.  This is my report.

My Day at the Spa

I started the day with breakfast, a banana and a bowl of cereal.  In my quirky makes no sense thinking, I had to shower and make sure I shaved.  I just couldn’t abide the technicians having to touch an unshaven leg.   Call me weird, but I do the same thing when I go to the gyno.  Logically, I know they don’t even notice, but I would not be able to relax if I didn’t.  After getting pretty, I drove to Ross Bridge.  I try not to think about the fact that it is only 10 miles from my house.  It felt like I was a million miles away.

I was checked in and immediately taken into the spa.  Immediately to the right there is a quiet room with a whirl pool.  I always forget to bring my suit, so I have never tried it out.  It is nice to sit and listen to the water.  Straight ahead is the sauna which is screened for privacy.  To the left are the  restrooms and showers.  In that area, they provide all the necessities: combs, hair dryers, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, deodorant,  feminine products.  Also to the right are the lockers and changing rooms.  Just beyond the locker room is a holding area where you wait for your services.  They provide snacks, water and tea.  In the past, I have not been too impressed with this area.  However, they have much improved.  They had some of the best fresh fruit I have ever eaten.  I am not usually one for fresh raspberries.  I love their taste, however their texture usually keeps me away.  Not yesterday.  They were so juicy and flavorful, I couldn’t get enough!

After a very short wait, I was taken back for my Southern Comfort scrub.  I did not intend for this treatment to necessarily be relaxing.  I felt I needed it.  It ended up being wonderful.  Kristen was my tech.  She and I ended up chatting the entire time.  We discussed making our own beauty products, life and family.  She was great.  I would not hesitate to recommend both the scrub and the tech.  Afterward, I felt light.  You know how you feel when you get in the pool – almost weightless?  That is how I felt afterward.  I know it sounds odd, but that’s exactly how I felt.  Light.  I guess that isn’t too far off.  Kristen said she removed about three layers of dead skin. (Yuck!)  My intention when I booked this treatment was to start fresh and keep it up at home.  Along that line, she says she uses baking soda once a week.  At the end of the shower, sprinkle the soda on skin, rub in circular motions and rinse well.  I’m sure I will use this technique.  I really, really love how my skin feels.

I scheduled in time for lunch.  My plan was to go into the hotel and eat at one of the restaurants.  I ended up ordering lunch through the spa.   From three sandwiches they offered, I chose the BLT.  It came with chips and a fruit cup, and all of it was packaged in a cute little bag.

2009-06-24 Lunch Bag

I thought it was a nice touch.

After more relaxation and reading, I got my very first Hot Stone Massage.  I’ve always wondered about those.  Every time I see an advertisement or  brochure for a spa, there is always a poto of a client with stones on his/her back.  I was curious.  That is why I put it on my list.  Overall the experience was very pleasently medical not indulgent.  To me and indulgence is pure enjoyment, like chocolate cake or an ice cream sundae.  No one can claim that either has any other purpose other than enjoyment.  I look at a Swedish massage as indulgent.  Very rarely does it do anything but make you feel good.  The hot stone massage is more along the lines of a deep tissue massage.  There was slight pain, but the results were worth it.  Afterward, all the tension was released.  I felt loose.  I felt great!  Karen, the tech, used stones to perform a good portion of the massage.  The best way to describe it was a combo of laying on a heating pad and getting a massage.  Mom, you would love it!  I think anyone who has alot of muscle tension due to job stress or athletic endeavors would really benefit from this type of massage.  I think, in the future, I will stick to the Swedish massage.  However, I am not sorry I tried it.  It has been a long time since I have been this loose.  I wish I could afford to get a massage every week.  That would be great.

After slinking back to the waiting room, I headed over for my mani and pedi.  While I’ve never found the experience to be relaxing (I have very ticklish feet), I adore how my hands and feet feel afterward.

2009-06-24 Pedicure

I have always been a little vain about my feet.  I would always have polish on them and never went about with it chipped.  In the past month, I have kinda let them go.  It was nice to have them back looking good.  I think, like with the scrub, I’m going to use this as a jumping off point to get back into the habit of keeping them looking good.

In another attempt to try new things, I spent a little time in the sauna.  I never really understood it before.  I mean, who would purposely sit in a room that makes you sweat.  It seems a little ironic to pay for that priviledge when all you really have to do in Alabama is step outside.  Surprisingly, it was nice.  It was in a way refreshing.  I wouldn’t mind doing it again.

At that point, I decided I was done.  Seven hours of relaxing was my limit.  I took a shower and hit the road.  Before I left, I picked up the best smelling candle I have ever smelled.

2009-06-24 Candle

When Mom and I went to this spa a couple of years ago, they had one burning in the locker room.  I fell in love with it.  Mom gifted me with one that weekend.  I only burn it on special occasions.  With the trail card, I get a 25% discount on all merchandise.  I decided to pick up another one.  Apparently, they have become more popular, because a Google search came up with several sites.  Before, I could only find one or two.  (Mom, here is a site that looks good.)

After leaving the spa, I decided to have dinner at Cheesecake Factory.  I ended up ordering the Cajun Jambalaya Pasta.

2009-06-24 cajun_jambalaya_pasta

I ended up getting mine over rice instead of pasta, and it was wonderful.  Supper yum!  I ended the night with a slice of the White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle cheesecake.

2009-06-24 Cheesecake_WhiteChocolateRaspberryTruffle

I think this is my new favorite desert!  There is no words to describe how wonderful this was, so I’m not even going to try.

Overall, it was a really great day.  I’m not sure how all those women of luxury can spend so much time in spas.  While my day went exactly as planned, I can not see myself doing a full day on a regular basis.  Right now, I seem to make it out there once  a year.  That seems like a reasonable schedule for me.  However, I have to confess again that I would go every week for a massage if I could afford it.  For anyone in the area, I highly recommend Ross Bridge Spa if you are looking for a relaxing and indulgent experience.  No one gets in a hurry.  Everyone speaks in hushed tones.  The lights are kept low.  Everything screams relaxation.  I have been in a couple of other spas.  So far, Ross Bridge is the best.

June 24, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Holiday, Random, Vacation

3 Comments »

  1. Oh wow! Sounds absolutely amazing! Glad you had a good time. :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | June 25, 2009

  2. WOW!!! Thank you for the virtual trip to the spa! That’s about as close as you can come to actually being there! Next time, I MUST be along for the “ride”! I’m so glad that you enjoyed it. The food looks AMAZING!!! I think we need to work that into our next trip.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | June 25, 2009

  3. I can see that this is going to cost me a fortune. Oh well, Nana is worth it.

    Comment by Buck | June 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

