Knit Lit

An Apple a day

Several months ago, one of my bosses bought his daughter a new computer before she left for college.  Along with this computer, she received a brand new iPod.  It replaced her older 3o GB iPod Classic.  My boss has his own mp3 player, so he offered the iPod Classic to me at a very discounted price.  I took him up on it.  Recently, it has been getting stuck and only showing the apple while not being recognized by my computer.  I made an appointment at the Genius Bar at my local store to see what was up.

While we were there, Boy Child showed me the iPod Touch.  Apparently, they have them at his school.  Within 1 minute, he had me hooked.  I wanted one.  The only problem was I had this iPod Classic.  The lady at the GB was able to get it back in shape, sort of.  She said it had an extremely low battery.  The kicker was that it had been on the charger all night.  Hum.  I took the old one home and decided that I would wait until Christmas to see if I still wanted one.

The next couple of days, I listened to it with no problems.  Then, BAM!  It happened again.  I could not get it past the apple start page.  iTunes did not recognize it when it was hooked up.  Sigh. I was bummed, but decided I would still wait.  Then, this week, Target had a special.  When you purchased the iPod Touch, you received a $30 gift card.  Since Boy Child’s birthday is next month, I knew that $30 would be helpful.  Not to mention it was more than the 10% trade in Apple offers. (This is due to very strange sales tax issues where I live.  The math works out, I promise.)  So, in case you haven’t figured it out, I got myself a new toy!

2009-06-22 iPod Touch calendar

I am not sorry I splurged one little bit.  It has everything!  It keeps up with my calendar.  It has a To-Do list, games, movies, contacts, and it hooks up to WiFi.  I was even able to download knitting tools!  I have one app for keeping stitch and row counts on my projects.  It even has an app for calculating yardage needed for various projects.  I know this will be helpful at Rhinebeck!

I know someone will mention that the iPhone has the same features without being limited where internet access goes.  I did consider it.  However, I did not want to pay the extra $30 a month for it.  With Boy Child quickly nearing teen years, we will soon be needing another cell phone.  I just can’t abide my cell phone bill being more than my other utilities combined.  So, I’ll take the Touch.  I’m also aware that  I can download books, but I find the screen too small for reading a book.  I have my Reader for that.

I also researched how the Touch handles jogging/exercise.  I discovered that someone did a rough test.  They dropped it on various surfaces from varying heights, jogged with it, tossed it, ect.  It held up to a huge amount of stress.  Overall, it fills in the technological holes for me.  I am so happy I could burst!

June 22, 2009 - Posted by | Technology

3 Comments »

  1. I need to take lessons from you on how to make any purchase sound absolutely necessary! I can’t wait to “play” with it to see if it’s a necessity for me, too. hehe

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | June 23, 2009

  2. Techno freak. sounds kinda cool. you gonna get one for Jim?

    Comment by Buck | June 23, 2009

  3. Woo! So glad you got one! :-)

    I love my Apple stuff. It started with an iPod (one of the originals when they first came out), went to an iPhone, and, when the last computer died, we bought a Mac. I’ll never go back to anything Windows based. :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | June 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

