Knit Lit

Right on track

I’ve finished the Ron socks.

2009-06-21 Ron socks 1

I really love the colors in this yarn.

2009-06-21 Ron socks 2

I’m not sure how these are going to wear.  It was a little rough while knitting it up.

2009-06-21 Ron socks 3

I’m going to soak them tonight.  Hopefully they will soften.

I am very happy I started with my own pair.  I learned a very important lesson.  I started the first sock using dpns.  My gauge was 9.5 stitches per inch.  After spending last weekend at my brother’s house, I lost a needle.  It was my first lost in 6 years of knitting.  That is a feat in and of itself.  Anyway, I still have the Rockwell socks on the needles, so I have no spare size 1 needles.  Instead, I switched to a circular and finished using  the Magic Loop method.  It wasn’t until I had turned the heel and was half way up the leg on the second sock that I realized my gauge was different.  Using Magic Loop, I only knit 9 stitches per inch.  Sigh.  I decided to finish it up as is.  I will most likely only wear these inside the house after the movie, and the difference is negligible.

I have taken every possible measurement of Boy Child’s foot, so I hope I will be able to finish his right quick.  I still need to finish my June knit, Blue Sahara.  I’ve finished the neckline.  All that is left is to finish off the arms (I’m going with the sleeveless version, so that will be finished quickly) and the length.  I need to try it on.  I’m not exactly sure where it is  now.  I still have 8 days to meet the deadline.  I’m sure I can do it.

June 21, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Yarn

1 Comment »

  1. Check out how PERFECT you matched your socks!!!!! Wowza!
    When does the movie come out? THANK YOU sooooo much for the detailed instructions on the socks! I am going to work on them a little later this morning. It is still before 5am and I am not awake enough for wrap and turns. Hee Hee
    It was great to see you, I hope your day is effortless and your Spa day is super luxurious!

    Comment by suzanne | June 22, 2009


Leave a Reply

