Knit Lit

Bingo!

This weekend the power at our house went out twice for several hours each time.  Even with all the windows, our house was fairly dark due to the massive thunderstorms.  While searching for something to occupy our time, we discovered a Scrabble game that was never opened.   I’ve never played it before, but we decided to give it a try.  At the time, I was not sure how it was going to go.  Hubby is a champion speller.  I read all the time, so my vocabulary is quite extensive; however, I am an awful speller.

We had a practice game, and we immediately became addicted!  I can not believe I’ve never given this game a chance before now!  Oh, my! It is so much fun!  I happened to win the first game.  Thereafter, Hubby has been the champ.  He trounces me every time.  His score exceeds mine anywhere from 40 to 100 points.   It was getting to the point where I didn’t want to play with him anymore.   I was about to resign myself to playing with Boy Child (yes, the 9 year old) just so I could win a game.  Tonight, tonight, I was given a little hope.

It was our second game of the night.  The only reason I was going to endure another defeat was to spend time with Hubby before he leaves for training.  Then it happened!

2009-06-16 bingo word

With my very first word, I got a BINGO.  I used all 7 of my letters for one word!  That is an extra 50 points added to the 12 point word!  I was on fire after that.  We were able to use all but three letters by the end of the game.

2009-06-16 game end

I know I shouldn’t gloat; but like playing pool against him, I’m not sure if I will ever win again.

2009-06-16 score

For my own sake, I need to document this victory.  It will allow me to suffer through other defeats with a little grace and dignity. Maybe.

June 16, 2009 - Posted by | Family, Random

3 Comments »

  1. That sounds like me playing Trivial Pursuit against my hubby. The only section I can beat him in is the Music/Entertainment part. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | June 16, 2009

  2. I love board games too. As a grown-up you forget how much fun they are. I love big words, but when I play Scrabble I become a blithering idiot who struggles to remember 3 letter words. Keep your score card handy so you can whip it out at a moments notice, either to gloat or inspire you to kick scrabble butt!!!

    Comment by suzanne | June 17, 2009

  3. I would love to play scrable, but i can’t spell scrable.

    Comment by Buck | June 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

