Knit Lit

Outfit Monday

I finally finished a dress I started a couple of weeks ago.

2009-06-08 Dress 1

I was in Hancock Fabrics looking around, and I saw this fabric.  It was love at first sight!  I bought all they had.  Unfortunately there was only a few yards.  I knew I wanted a cute Boho sundress, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted it to look like.  While I was surfing the Internets, I came across Heather Ross’ Mendocino Sundress. It looked so easy, I had to give it a try.

2009-06-08 Dress 2

It’s hard to tell in this photo, but it has a smocked top.  It was the first time I have used elastic thread.  It was so much easier than I had anticipated.  Though, I have to admit I was happy when I was done with it.  I also have to mention that Hubby was important to the successful completion of this project.   His help in placing the straps was invaluable.  Thanks Baby!  Oh, the best part …

2009-06-08 Dress Lable

Mrs. S gave me these great labels for all my sewing projects.  Cool, hu?!?!

I also finished a knitted project.

2009-06-08 Shrug 1

Pattern: One Skein Wonder shrug (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Valley Yarns Southwick

Color: Toffee

Needles: US 6

Started: May 27, 2009

Finished: June 3, 2009

2009-06-08 Shrug 2

This patten is supper easy and extremely quick.  This is exactly what I have been searching for in a summer sweater.  There is enough to cover my shoulders for work; however it is light enough to hold up under sweltering Alabama summers.  I give it two thumbs up.  It also helps that it matches my new dress.  I think this will be the outfit for nephew’s 2nd birthday party this weekend. Yea!

June 8, 2009 - Posted by | Fabric, Finished, Knitting, Sewing

2 Comments »

  1. I am in AWWWWWWW. SMOCKING????? It is precious and looks store bought! KUDOS!!!! And, Mrs S……what a sweat and thoughtful gift. It definately gives it the finishing touch. I can’t wait to see it this weekend.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | June 9, 2009

  2. plz see my blog for full comment

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | June 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

