Knit Lit

The one where I took the day off

I am exhausted!  I think it is ironic that I accomplished more out of the office than I ever have at work.  Boy Child is out of school, but his summer camp does not start until next week.  So, I decided we needed a project.   When we moved into this house two years ago, I was able to get a toy box/bookcase I remember from my childhood.  Apparently, my Grandpapa built it when my Mom was young.  She painted it yellow to match my room.  When my little brother came along, she painted it blue and put it in his room.  There it became a thrown for me when I commanded him to clean his room.  I also was a wonderful big sister as I tricked him into climbing into the toy box and then promptly sat on the lid so he was trapped.  I know!  Nice, hu?  When it made the move to my childhood home, it was again in my brothers’ room.  While cleaning it out one day, my baby brother found what he dubbed a fuzzy rock, which ended up being one of our Christmas oranges.  Yum!  After we all left home, the toy box made its way to my Aunt Jackie’s house where it was painted a fourth time.

I am so happy to have it back.  Though, throughout the years it has seen some wear.  Today, Boy Child and I did what we could to restore it to all its previous glory.

2009-05-28 Box B1

Imagine it with another strip of moulding on the left side.  I had removed it before I remembered my camera.

2009-05-28 Box B2

The bottom had received severe damage and had to be removed.

2009-05-28 supplies

First, we went supply shopping.

2009-05-28 Box A1

We sanded the rough edges and replaced the old moulding with new.

2009-05-28 Box A2

We replaced the bottom.

2009-05-28 Box A3

We have also painted the entire thing white.

2009-05-28 A4

So far, we only have one coat.  Right at this moment, we are letting the first coat dry and plan on a second after dinner.  I think for our first building project we have tackled on our own, with little preparation I might add, we have done a  wonderful job!  I also hope Grandpapa is proud of us.  I know it means a whole lot to me to have something he built with his own hands roughly 40 years ago.  Thanks Grandpapa!

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | Boy Child, Building, Family, Finished, Random, Vacation

3 Comments »

  1. OMG!!! Y’all did a GREAT job! I am super proud of you. That toy box has many stories in those layers of paint, too. I’m glad that you decided to leave them in tacted. We’ll have to find out from Grandpapa exactly when he built it. Thank you for keeping the memories alive.

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | May 29, 2009

  2. looks great no fuzzy rocks?

    Comment by Buck | May 29, 2009

  3. Looks wonderful! The hubby still has an antique dresser that he had when he was a boy. Thankfully, he scraped all the stickers off it and restained it when he got older. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | May 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

