Knit Lit

The one where the sewing makes me happy

I love to sew.  It is so much faster than knitting.  Though I still love my knitting, there is something to be said about the ability to whip up a couple of skirts in an evening.  Last night, I took out a panel on my yard sale skirt.

 

2009-05-21 Flower Wrap Close

 

It’s still a little large.  I decided to take it for a whirl (hee!) today. 

 

2009-05-21 Flower Wrap Skirt

 

The whole wrap thing isn’t working for me.  Every time I sit down, it comes open.  So, I think I’m going to remove the snap and add a zipper instead.  This will make it a large circle type skirt.  I still like it.   

 

I also broke out the “good” fabric since I ran out of my “practice” fabric.  I am so incredibly happy I did.  I LOVE my new skirt! 

 

2009-05-21 Owl Skirt

 

It, too, is a tad too large.  The fabric so makes up for it. 

 

2009-05-21 Owl Skirt Close

 

Yea!  How cute is this fabric!!  I ended up only using half the amount I ordered.  I love this print so much I think I will make a bag so I can take it everywhere!   I made my own pattern.   I think I added a little too much ease and made my seams smaller than the instructions called for.  Surprisingly, I used the seams from the yard sake skirt instructions.  This time, I took my pinking shears to it before I encased the seams.  I will definitely make more of these.  Next time, I will cut out the ease.  Then it will be perfect. Yea, again!

 

I did not make as much progress on my Buttercup top as I thought I would. 

 

2009-05-21 BUttercup Sweater

 

I ended up sewing during commercials a bit and knitted during the show.  I am awesome at multi-tasking!  I even started on a top I plan on wearing tomorrow.  If I finish it, I’ll try to take a photo. 

May 21, 2009 - Posted by | Fabric, Finished, Knitting, Sewing

3 Comments »

  1. So when you took out the wrap part of your skirt, did you also remove the waistband to put in the zipper? I like the look of the finished waistband on mine but if I put in a zipper, I don’t want the middle seam to be straight down from my belly button. Let me know what you did to fix yours. I hate to ditch my super cute fabric too!

    Comment by Renie | May 23, 2009

  2. You’re doing so good! :-) Love the print.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | May 24, 2009

  3. AWESOME!!!! I think they are BOTH soooooo cute. Did you make the top that is on the owl skirt, too?

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | May 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

