Knit Lit

The one were I knit a top to go with an elephant skirt

At the risk of sounding like a grumpy grouch, I feel blaaa, not be confused with a sheep ‘baa’, but rather Blaaa as in yucky.  I have to say that if I did have a sheep, I probably wouldn’t be feeling blaaa in the first place. It’s a conundrum.  Baa!  It is also awful to not be happy, sad or angry.  I’m so used to my emotions being extreme, whatever they are, that when they aren’t, I’m not sure how to proceed.   I’m just here. I admit I feel a little more excited as I drive home each day.  At least that is something.

 

Monday night, Hubby had to work late.  I spent the entire night watching Star Trek: The Next Generation(I love you Jean-Luc!) and sewing.  I attempted the ‘easy’ yard sale skirt from Heather Ross’ Weekend Sewing.  It took me all night and that does not bode well for her other patterns getting made by me! I have read a couple of reviews that said the L/XL size is actually rather small; and if you are of average size or larger, you may be better off adding another panel. (I will note that this suggestion came from someone who wears a size 10-12.  On what messed up planet is this considered larger than an XL?!?!)  Me, I decided to add two.  You know, ‘cause in my mind I am an elephant.  Of course, it ended up too large. 

 

I’m not exactly happy with the construction she used in the pattern either. I like my seams to lay flat.  The pattern calls for the panels to be sewn together with the right side facing out, then the seam encased by folding the panels wrong side out and sewing a second seam.  This creates a weird seam that is hard and bulky to press down.  Now, having said that, it could just be my very new sewing skills that caused this problem.  I also decided to forgo the waistband and just rolled the top down.  I much preferred this look and will probably use this for other skirts.  I sewed on a snap closure, which adds a little more security to the whole wrap skirt idea.

 

Hubby has to work again tonight, so I will use the time to take out the extra panel of the skirt, so I don’t look like I should be going to a sock hop with Richie Cunningham.  I also think I will take a cue from another seamstress and make the last panel straight down instead of curved.  We’ll see, though.  Even with all that, I do have to say I really like the fabric.  It is a light blue with bright flowers outlined in chocolate brown.  I also realized that my new green top will match it perfectly!  I’m so happy that I had the foresight to buy less expensive fabric to work out all the kinks on.  I’m saving the good stuff for when I have my perfect skirt pattern down.  I think I’m going to attempt one from Sew What Skirts tonight.  Since I found paper on a roll at Wal-mart, I can now create my own pattern.

 

Speaking of the knitting project, I am making a fair amount of progress on my June sweater considering whole nights have been taken up with sewing, and I’m working with DK weight yarn on size 5 needles.  I haven’t tried it on yet, but I think I am just past the bust line.  It will get a fair amount of work done on it tonight.  The 2-hour season finale of Criminal Minds comes on at 8 pm.  Since my sewing desk faces away from the television, it will immediately be abandoned in favor of knitting.  So, for two solid hours, I will be dedicated to knitting on the top.  I’m optimistically hoping I will finish the boy tonight.  After that is the cap sleeves, and voila! A top is done!  I really hope this one comes out.  I love the color, and I think the Berocco Comfort will stay fresh through summers in Alabama. ~hot!~

May 20, 2009 - Posted by | Books, Fabric, Gripes, Knitting, Sewing, TV

2 Comments »

  1. I agree. I just finished the yard sale skirt and wish I had your critique first. I am a size 10 and wrap? It does not wrap. It is really cute though so I am going to try to sew it shut, remove the ties, and add a hidden zipper to keep from having to toss the entire thing.

    Comment by Renie | May 20, 2009

  2. Repeat after me, “I am NOT an elephant!” Come on now…..let me hear you say it!!! “I am NOT an elephant!” “I am NOT an elephant!” “I am NOT an elephant!”

    Now, repeat it as often as necessary until you actually BELIEVE it! IT”S THE TRUTH!!!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | May 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

