Knit Lit

The one with the skirt

friday-fill-in 

And…here we go!

1.  Apples are to oranges as yarn is to fabric(Both are yummy!)

2.  I do not believe humans are causing “Global Warming,” and that’s all I have to say about that.

3.   I think I hear my knitting crying.

4.   Our flag represents the lives that were lost throughout history so that we may be free; which, I’m sad to say, seems to be for naught the way the current administration is headed.

5.   Do what you want to do, but don’t expect me to always follow/listen/approve.

6.   Boy Child walked through the gardenand behind him was a Radio Flyer wagon; in the wagon was a bucket filled with things he found on his adventures.

7.  And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to shopping with Hubby (Hopefully I’ll be able to find a sewing table so we can eat in the dining room again.), tomorrow my plans include cleaning house and Sunday, I want to sew some more!

 *****************************************************

I am happy to report that I was able to complete my goal of sewing last night.  As a matter of fact, I sewed for 6 straight hours!  It was lovely.  Though I do have to say, there were a couple of times the sewing machine almost took a flight off the deck and into the creek.  I still have no idea why after hours of perfect stitches (by the machine at least) it went berserk!  I spent ½ an hour ripping back a gobbled mess of thread.  The real kicker was that it was at the tail end of my last project.  I would have put it in time out, but I really wanted to wear it to work today. In the end, it all worked out. 

 

2009-05-08 Flower bag

This is a knitting project bag made from scraps.  I love how the three patterns work so well together.

2008-05-08 Black bog 

This is another knitting project bag made from the scraps from Mrs. S’s bag.  I love, love, love it.  I have discovered that I prefer the two ribbon handles to the one.  They both work just fine, but the two ribbon bag seems to close more securely.  I think that will become my new go-to bag.

 

I was also able to complete my very first skirt I would actually wear in public.  As a matter of fact, I’m wearing it now.

 

2008-05-08 Skirt 

(It is really hard to take a photo of yourself!)

 

This was made some of the fabric I picked up yesterday from Hobby Lobby.  I adore the colors in the print.  It also doesn’t hurt that there are butterflies.  Including all notions, I think it cost me around $10.  I used a Simplicity pattern that I bought the last time I tried the whole sewing thing.  I did not follow the directions.  I used the pattern but adjusted the waist and used elastic instead of a ribbon closure. 

 

2008-05-08 Skirt Side 

Look, it even has splits up the side!

 

2008-05-09 Skirt and Birks 

And it matched my Birks perfectly!

 

I did learn some stuff.  First, I do not have an accurate picture of my body.  Some days I’m convinced I am much larger (like last night) and others I’m still the same size I was in high school.  Thus, I need to be able to try on stuff as I’m making it.  Even doing this, I still made my skirt a little on the big side.  The good news is that I can always make it smaller if I need to later. 

 

Second, I forgot I have a not small backside.  I didn’t take that into account when hemming my skirt, so the back rises up a little in the back.  I don’t care though.  When I look down at it, I don’t see the back.  It is all good.  I’m just happy that it actually comes down to my ankles more than anything else. 

 

Third, an iron is your bestest friend in the whole wide world.  Since I was working with 100% cotton, I didn’t need to pin anything.  I just ironed creases and off I went.  It was so easy!

 

Fourth, when all my equipment is working properly, sewing can be just as meditative as knitting.  It is also a great feeling knowing that you created something that is all your own. 

 

Sewing is definitely here to stay.  Like with my knitting, I know I will only get better as time goes on.  I’m going to let go with my perfectionist tendencies on this one and just enjoy that I made something that I like.  I’m going to wear it with pride.   

May 8, 2009 - Posted by | Fabric, Finished, Friday Fill-in, Sewing

4 Comments »

  1. Everything looks wonderful! I still haven’t attempted my pj pants. I’m a wuss.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | May 8, 2009

  2. HOW CUTE IS THAT SKIRT!!!! I love it with the Birks, too. Now you’re making me want to sew again, but I keep telling myself NO NO NO!!! I’ve got toooo many other things going to add to it. So, at least for the time being, I’ll have to live vicariously through you! I’m so glad that you like it. Do you recall me telling you that all of your summer clothes were handcrafted by me. You were so cute in those little sundresses with your blonde curly hair. You always wanted it french braided in 2 rows. Oops! Parden my side trip down memory lane. Cute bags, too. Grandmama just called to say that she brought you back some precious bags that she thought you might like for you knitting. She says they fold so they will fit down in your purse. You also asked for a pink scarf. She went out special and had them made for you. Great job! Sweet Potato!!!

    Comment by Mom (Better Known as Nana) | May 8, 2009

  3. I can see an Etsy shop with “the cutest” clothes and a full line of
    Organic health & beauty care…….now we must come up with a name.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | May 8, 2009

  4. I LOVE my bags and that skirt!!!!!! Great job!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | May 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

