Knit Lit

The one where I find a new love

Apparently I have not been blogging enough.  I have to say it was just because I was trying to protect you all.  My life, while busy, has been boring.  I was just trying to save everyone the frustration of logging onto the Internet, clicking on my site and discovering a post about how I folded the laundry or scrambled to fix something for dinner out of the nothingness that is in our pantry.  Like I said – boring.  However, since there has been a request for more blogging, that’s you Buck, I will share with you what has been going on in my life.

 

1.          Last week Boy Child and I were having some difficulties with behavior.  I say we both were because I was not living up to my job as a good mommy.  Several weeks ago I purchased several books to help me: How to Really Love Your Child, How to Really Parent Your Child: Anticipating What a Child Needs Instead of Reacting to What a Child Does, and The Five Love Languages of Children.  After reading book #2, I learned that the number one reason for misbehavior in children is that their ‘emotional tank’ is not full.  That is where I failed Boy Child.  I did not recognize that I was not filling his emotional tank.  So, I decided to rectify this oversight.  While Hubby was working Friday night, Boy Child and I had a movie night.  We made nachos and popcorn.  We ate movie candy.  We watched a couple of movies.  We had a great time.  I also decided that the computer was working against our family time.  I made a deal with Boy Child.  Neither one of us was allowed on the computer.  I have to admit it was tough at first, but we ended up having a great time.   Both our tanks were filled.  I recommend wholeheartedly these books for any parent who wants to be the best parent they can be. 

 

2.          I finished this shrug using Berroco’s Touché in some unlisted color I’m calling ‘natural silver’.  I loved every minute of knitting with this yarn. It was soft and drapey.  Though in this case, the drape in this yarn worked against me.  It turned out very, very large.  I loved the yarn so much, I wore it to work in hopes I could fix it.  No go.  It will be unraveled and used for another project.  I ended up purchasing the yarn called for in the pattern (Cotton-Ease) in Taupe.  I am now 1/3 of the way done with the second one.  So far, it appears to be more successful than the first.  Sadly it looks like a big pile of nothing until it is done, so there are no photos. 

 

In the vain of knitting shrugs, I have also started on this one using Berroco’s Pure Pima in ‘Mellow Rose.’  I really like this yarn.  I’m not sure at this point how it is going to look finished, but I love the color so much I can forgive it for a lot.  Again, I looks like a whole lot of nothing now so no photos.  I do find the lace pattern in the Retro Redux Shrug is easier to keep track of than the other.  I would rate both as easy patterns, but I seem to be making more mistakes in the first one.

 

3.          I had lunch with Mrs. S on Monday, so I was able to gift her with these:

dscf0160  DSCF0156

As a thank you for the shawl from SS, I decided to sew a few bags to keep her own shawls safe from snags.  These are my first ‘real’ projects.  I admit I have sewn the curtains that are hanging in our house now, but I’m not sure that counts since it was only 2 straight lines on each panel.  I also sewed a skirt once that turned out so poorly; I sent it straight to the trash.  I think these bags turned out well, though.  They also gave me the sewing bug. Bad. Right now, I would rather sew than knit. Hubby has to work tonight, so I am planning on spending the entire night sewing.  Today I went to Hobby Lobby to pick up the notions I need for tonight. While I was there, I noticed the cotton fabrics are on sale 30% off.  I picked up a couple of different patterns to practice on before I work on the “good” fabric.  The one exception is the bug fabric I picked up a couple of weeks ago.  I’m going to use this for pajama pants.  Those will get made tonight.  Yea! I’m also planning on a skirt, too.  Cross your fingers that all things will turn out well.

 

That’s all folks.  I told you my life has been quite boring.  If I complete my goals tonight, I may have something more interesting to show you tomorrow.

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Fabric, Family, Finished, Knitting, Sewing

3 Comments »

  1. FINALLY! I have probably logged on at least 50 times since Friday.

    So,so glad you and my grandson got your tanks filled. Hint: Mine is empty! :o)

    Looking forward to the sewing report. Call if you hit a “snag”!

    Comment by Mom (Better Known as Nana) | May 7, 2009

  2. Hrm. I may look into those books.

    I feel like sewing today, too. Since it’s Mother’s Day, I bet I can get in some uninterrupted time. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | May 10, 2009

  3. I like the tank thingy.

    Comment by Buck | May 12, 2009


Leave a Reply

