Knit Lit

The Bad, The Good, and The Yarn

The Bad:

I got a speeding ticket on the way to Stitches South.  That means I’m going to have to take a day off work to deal with it in a couple of months. Grrr!

The Good:

I got to go to Stitches South.  It was almost the perfect shopping experience.  The only thing that would have made it better would have been to have a butler bringing us drinks and nibbles and a Sherpa carrying our packages.

The Bad:

All the walking we did on Saturday apparently aggravated my heel bone spur, which I did not know I had.  Now, I can barely walk.

The Good:

Mrs. S is one of the most generous people I have ever met.  While we share a passion for knitting and agree on politics/faith/family, we also have diverging tastes on yarn and patterns.  That is the great thing about our friendship.  We can admire and appreciate all the things we can not wear ourselves.  I can honestly say, she is my most bestest friend.  Look at what wonderful things she gifted me with this weekend:

2009-04-27-gauge-pendant

Debra’s Garden Gauge Pendant

2009-04-27-shawl

Sample Sale Hand-knit Shawl

The true color of this lovely shawl is a deep midnight navy blue.  I don’t really fancy wearing shawls, however, this one has changed my mind.  It is beautiful.  I have to say its beauty only reflects the beauty of the gift giver.

The Yarn (and other stuff):

2009-04-27-sanguine-gryphon

The Sanguine Gryphon

from left to right: ‘Bugga’ in Hogwood Bonking Beetle, ‘Kypria’ in Cheiron’s Counsel, ‘Little Traveller’ in Bergen, ‘Bugga’ in Leaffooted Bug

2009-04-27-miss-babs

Miss Babs

from left to right:  ‘Bamboo Baby’ in Onyx, ‘Yummy’ in Wine Barrell

2009-04-27-glass-needles

Michael & Sheila Ernst

2009-04-27-spindle

I totally cannot remember where I got this awesome drop spindle.  Mrs. S gave me one, which is lovely, but I’m still scared to try it.  This man was using one of these spindles.  He was kind enough to give me a lesson.  It was so pretty and purple, I had to have one.  I think it just might tip me over into giving it a shot.  I also picked up a bag of alpaca fleece; but it is pitch black, and I couldn’t get it to photograph.

I also went by to see Sheep Incognito.  I had a coupon for 10% off, so I picked up a few more prints to fill out my collection.

2009-04-27-peek-a-baaa

Peek-A-Baa

2009-04-27-face-lift

Face Lift

2009-04-27-hanging-by-a-thread

Hanging by a Thread

2009-04-27-occupational-therapy

Occupational Therapy

2009-04-27-buttons

Buttons:  branch, butterflies, birds

Overall, it was a wonderful day.  I would do it again in a heartbeat.  I stuck to my goals for the day: 1) only buy what would fit into my bag, and 2) only buy special things it would be difficult to get outside a fiber festival.  I spent the day with a good friend.  I made plans for another trip yarn crawl in Atlanta in a couple of months since we were too exhausted to go anywere else.  As a matter of fact, I was asleep by 9:30 Saturday night.  I woke up around 8 am with the intention of going to church, but ended up falling back asleep until 12:30 pm.  Wow! Just thinking about all we did and saw is making me sleepy right now.

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | Events, Friends, Knitters, Knitting

3 Comments »

  1. i love that color, “Bamboo Baby’ in Onyx.

    Comment by Buck | April 28, 2009

  2. WHO ARE YOU, AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH MY HUSBAND?!!! Commenting on color? of KNITTING NEEDLES?????? Humph! Boooo on the ticket. Yay on everything else. Beautiful things, beautiful people and beautiful experiences make for beautiful memories. Here’s to many more in your future!!! CHEERS!!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | April 28, 2009

  3. LOL at #1 and #2 (who I’m now assuming are your Mom and Dad).

    Love all the goodies you brought home! Wasn’t it great? And I did have a sherpa…aka the hubby. LOL He got lots of brownie points for that one.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | May 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

