Knit Lit

Sock Mitt to me

I did not get my skirt done this weekend.  I was busy, busy starting all kinds of new knitting projects.  I also finished my first socks for myself.

2009-04-20-socks

I know it’s not the best picture, but they fit well.  That’s what counts.  I’m not sure I like the contrasting toe and band, but I ran out of the main color.   I also haven’t gotten the bind off down pat.  These are the little tight at the top.  Not too bad, for my first try, though.  I immediately cast on for another pair.

2009-04-20-new-sock

I started these with the Lorna’s Laces in Rockwell that I picked up the otherday at the tax sale.  I’m really liking the yarn.  I’ve already had to pull back half the sock.  My guage changed from 9 stitches per inch to 8 inches per inch.   I’m not too upset, because the the colors were pooling bad bad.  Now that I’ve started over with fewer stitches, the colors are striping.  Nice, hu?

I also spent a goodly amount of time on Ravelry.    I’m not sure how I came across it, but I did.  Eva Katharina used the Endpaper Mitt instructions with her own chart.  I happened to have the exact same yarn (also picked up at the tax day sale) in the exact same colors, which I love.  I could not resist.  I cast on immediately.

2009-04-20-bird-mitt

I love this project! I want to stay home and work on nothing else.  Again, irony rears its ugly head.  All I want to work on is cold weather projects now that is warming up around here.  Sigh.

April 20, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Yarn

3 Comments »

  1. They look toasty. it was great to hear from Jim about the new gig. Sounds like he is enjoying it so far.

    Comment by Buck | April 21, 2009

  2. Love the socks! Since you are the master of sock toes, maybe I can glean a little ‘know how’ from you.
    The mittens- OH MY gonna be GORGEOUS!

    Comment by suzanne | April 21, 2009

  3. I LOVE the mittens. How cute are they!!!! I guess I will have to start knitting my own socks now that you are wearing them.

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | April 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

