Knit Lit

The yarn stash needs to watch its back

My LYS of choice has decided to return to its roots.  They began carrying fabric a couple of weeks ago.  I think this is great, because I have a growing desire to start sewing my own dresses and skirts to match my knitting.  I think sewing is a wonderful skill to have, especially for someone who loves having one-of-a-kind things without having to pay one-of-a-kind prices.  Anywho, the store decided to have a sale on tax day (yesterday) that included all regular price merchandise.  I thought it was a good time to pick up some fabric to get me started.

2009-04-16-amy-butler-kalidoscope-dots-olive 2009-04-16-fabric-favorite

2009-04-16-amy-butler-happy-dots-linen 2009-04-16-amy-butler-sweet-jasmine-forest

2009-04-16-heather-ross-west-hill-tadpoles-blush 2009-04-16-joel-dewberry-modern-petal-eggplant

I can not wait! The only problem is that sewing needs a good stretch of time.  It is not like knitting where I can pick it up for five minutes here and there.  I’m hoping I will have a chance to play around this weekend since we have an off week in the soccer schedule.  My plan is to have one skirt completed to wear on Monday.  Hopefully, I will have a pair of pajama pants as well.  The best part of this whole endever is that the cost of the fabric is about a third of what Anthropologie is charging for something similar.  Yea!

Don’t think I forgot about my love for all things knitting.  I gave into the urge and bought a book I’ve been eyeing for a while.

2009-04-16-milk-cotton

These projects embody the fun funky style I’m drawn to.  I think I’ll enjoy making these.

I also picked up this book and a couple of skeins of new sock yarn to go along with it.  I have discovered a need to knit socks, only socks, all the time.

2009-04-16-sock-yarn

  1. Lorna’s Laces – colorway: Rockwell
  2. Koigu KPM – colorway: 2230 (aka raspberry)
  3. Malabrigo Sock – colorway: stonechat

2009-04-16-dk-sock

  1. Reynolds Soft Sea Wool

One thing I’ve learned about my knitting (and my life in general) is that if I force myself to do something I really don’t want to do, it doesn’t turn out well.  So, for now, I’m going along with the whole sock knitting thing.  I’m sure I will get back to my sweater style soon.  Though, I also know about irony.  I’m sure I will get back into the groove of summer knitting just as the weather cools down in October or November.  Sigh.  Well, they say life is a journey.  I’m just on an unexpected detour, and some of the best sights are found on such paths.

April 16, 2009 - Posted by | Books, Fabric, Knitting, Sewing, Stash, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. I am having a hard time finding you on Twitter. What is your Twittername? I am trying to add you to my follow list. Love the purchases! Can’t wait to see your new skirt!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | April 17, 2009

  2. Hey! I love the fabrics. Want me to come over and help you this weekend? Buck is going to USM spring game so I’ve got the time. Anyway, one of the ladies from our New Orleans office wanted to know if she paid you, would you knit her some socks. She was in Jackson this week and I was bragging about mine.

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | April 17, 2009

  3. You and I picked out some of the same fabrics! lol I’m wanting to try my hand at some lounge pants. We’ll see if I mangle it or not.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | April 20, 2009

  4. You’re on Twitter? I’m adding you now!

    Upper left corner, I covet it!

    Comment by Emily | April 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

