Knit Lit

Friday fill me in on what has been going on

#118

fridayfillin-graphic2

 

 1.   Angel or not, I will love you forever.

 2.   I’ll knit any way you want me to knit.

 3.   As my mother used to say, you’re full of sugar and spice and everything nice.

 4.   I want to sleep for a week after I’m done working out or doing something strenuous.

 5.   Even in the most crowded of rooms I will always find you.

 6.   A day at work is a day fraught with peril.

 7.  And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to ripping out my attempt at a toe-up sock and trying another method, tomorrow my plans include going to Boy Child’s first soccer game of the season and Sunday, I want to clean up the mess my house has become!

 ********************************

 I will not let the toe-up sock elude me!  I have rather large feet, and it is hard to gauge how many yards to leave for the foot. It would be much easier to be able to knit until I run out of yarn and voila! I have a perfect fitting sock. Sigh.  I have tried toe-up socks before.  I can not seem to get it right.  Right now, I think my problem is the whole picking up double-wrapped stitches.  My seams are coming out on top of my toes instead of on the sides, so I have more stitches on one side than the other.  Oh well.  I looked on Knitty and found the easy toe method that allows you to start with a few stitches and just do increases.  We’ll see how this one goes.  Grrrr!  I will not let this beat me.  If I have to lie, cheat, kill or steal, I’ll never go sockless again!

 

I’m still knitting on the Hug-me-tight shrug/wrap.  I realized that the rib is eating my yarn like Boy Child eats his Easter candy.  I decided that I would put the body section on hold for a bit and work on the lace instead.  That way, I can make sure I have enough yarn.  I’m using Sublime Silk Wool DK I got at my lys closeout sale.  I guess it is the same idea as toe-up socks.  I will finish the lace edging, and then continue with the ribbing until I run out of yarn.  Speaking of the lace, I had to make a slight adjustment in the lace pattern.  I tried and tried to follow the pattern.  After three hours of attempts, I gave up and decided to start looking for another lace pattern to substitute.  Luckily, I found one.  I got it right on the first try, too.  I hope it all works out.  If it does, this wrap will get a lot of use.

 

 Boy Child and I had a blast last night.  It was such a kick to actually see dinosaurs.  It was like every imagination come to life.  You could see the skin move and the eyes blink.  Usually, I try to figure out how performers do what they do.  Last night, I just sat back and let my imagination take over.  If you have an opportunity to go, you should.  It is great for kids.  There is an intermission, and it is not too long.  There are loud noises, but there were sever infants who slept right through it, so by no means is it jarring. Go. You won’t be disappointed.

April 3, 2009 - Posted by | Events, Friday Fill-in, Friends, Knitting

1 Comment »

  1. Is the shrug far enough along to post picture. Curious!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | April 12, 2009


Leave a Reply

