Knit Lit

I’m back, and I’m 30!

Well, Spring Break is officially over, and I want it back!  I was not at all prepared to go back to work this morning.  While it was good to be home, I did not miss the office one bit.  I went in and had over 100 emails to read, print and save.   That was in addition to my regular daily work.  Sigh.  Luckily I was able to get it all done, but I am pooped!  I also noticed I was very aware of the time today.  I guess it’s because I paid no mind to it when I was away. Oh well, back to the grind.

I’m waiting on photos from the family, so the recounting of our trip will have to wait.  For now, I want to share my wonderful birthday celebration.  Every year on my birthday, I eat Japanese without fail.  If we are going to be out of town, the first thing that gets done is finding a Japanese restaurant.  We were able to find one in Pigeon Forge, and we all gathered on Monday, my actual birthday.  When hubby asked how long this tradition has been going on, I was shocked to realize that it has been 17 years!  Wow!  I’m sure it will continue for that many more.  I luv me some good Japanese food!  The one thing that is remarkable about this particular restaurant is that they cooked the vegetables at the beginning of the meal.  This is perfect for me.  I really enjoy them but often am too full to eat more than one or two bites.  All I can say is yum, yum!  I also was able to indulge in sushi.  Since both my boys refuse to eat sushi, it is a rare treat.  Again, yummy!

In addition to wonderful food, I also received wonderful gifts.  Hubby and Boy Child presented me with a gift certificate to Ross Bridge Spa.  I absolutely love this place.  They are one of the more expensive spas in town, but it is well worth the price.  First, no cell phones or children under the age of 16 are allowed.  They have a huge hot tub, steam room, and quiet room with complimentary tea and water.  They also have showers should you need to return to work or an event.  I personally will be taking advantage of my gift card to try the hot stone massage.  I have always wanted to try it, and now I will be able to.

From Mom & Papa Buck, I received a gift card to Webs.  It is tempting to spend it now, however, I know they have an annual sale that is coming up soon.  I think I am going to hold off until then.  It is hard, though.  There is so much I want to try!  I’ll be strong.  I also was given cash from MIL and one of the attorneys at work.  I have quite a little savings to indulge in the sale.  I was able to treat myself to a yarn purchase while away.  I’ll reveal this tomorrow with the post about our trip.  I will tell you, it is sitting on my coffee table so I can look at it.

In addition to a great and indulgent family, I have a wonder friend in Mrs. S.  I came home to find a package filled with wonderful treats.  It is great to have someone who understands you.  Mrs. S had the brilliant idea of using the fasteners that come on bread as holders for little yarn bits from cast ons or in color work.  Since all my bread uses twist ties, she collected some in a little holder just perfect to fit in my notions bag.  Since I have not been able to find the long M&M containers to hold my dpns, she added them to my package!  She also got little tags that declare the garment is handmade by me!  This will come in handy when I began my new sewing hobby.  This new adventure will also be greatly helped by these:

m5843 m5814

m5799 m5846

m4979 m54251 m3370

She also enclosed a gift certificate to Hancock Fabrics.  Mrs. S is a great friend.  She knew that I had small resourses for my new interest.  She knew I would need to increase my fabric stash.  She provided.  I thank her whole heartedly.  Thank you!  My only problem now is deciding which pattern to make first.  Hum.

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Birthday, Events, Fabric, Family, Friends, Random, Sewing, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. You are so welcome! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

    Comment by suzanne | March 23, 2009

  2. I love you and I’m proud of you.

    Comment by Buck | March 24, 2009

  3. What a great birthday! I need to make a run to Hancock’s too. I’ve got lots of fat quarters, but nothing to attempt a bigger project. :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | March 24, 2009

  4. What a stellar birthday! I just bought a shirt pattern to try – I am ready to give something more than a skirt a try. But no buttons. i don’t need that much of a challenge.

    Comment by Emily | March 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

