Knit Lit

Vegan me not again

I did it.  I lasted an entire week without meat, dairy or eggs.  I discovered a few things along the way:

  1. I really did not miss the meat all that much.
  2. I gained 2 pounds even though I did not eat ‘junk food’ the entire week.  This was the biggest shock.  I was sure I was going to loose a good amount, because  I have a tendency not to eat the best I could.  I guess I will have to start exercising. Poo!
  3. I do not like soy milk.
  4. I think it is easier to be vegan in the summer when fruits and veggies are in season.
  5. My digestive system has never been so regular.
  6. I can not live with the constant label reading.  It seems like everything ‘may contain trace amounts of milk.’
  7. I am more likely to forgo meat in the future, though I can’t give up dairy.  I missed cheese too much.
  8. I invented a great recipe with black beans, rice, corn and fresh cilantro.  (I never realized how much I like cilantro until now.) Yum!
  9. While I felt less ‘heavy’ this past week, my energy level was down.  I think this is due to something other than the diet, though.
  10. I thought people would make fun of me.  There were questions, but no mocking.
  11. Vegan Garden Burgers are gross.  I want to try the veggie ones, though.
  12. I never realized what a big portion of the grocery bill was dedicated to meat.

All in all, I’m glad I did it.  I confess this weekend was tough.  I was tired of having to be so concious of what I was eating.  It was exhausting.  I am proud of myself.  I do think that while I will try to eat a more balanced diet, I can’t spend the rest of my life focused on what I can or cannot eat.  That is no way to live.

*****************************

On the knitting front, I will finish up the second sleeve on Sweet Pea.  I think I may even be able to seam it up tonight, too.  After that, Henrietta and I are going to dance.  I am excited.  I’m also worried I will not be able to find enough buttons I like.  I have several great options now, but not enough for all the owls.  I have been toying with the idea of each owl having different ‘eyes.’  I’m not sure how that will look, but I’ll think about it.  I’m also toying with the idea of a new stitch for the bands in front.   I still think having a button closure is still too much, but I’m not sure if I want a zipper, which will negate the need for a band at all, or snaps against a border.  Hum.  I guess I have plenty to think about.

March 2, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Finished, Knitting

2 Comments »

  1. YAY!!! Congrats on making it all week. Proud of you!! Definately not an easy thing to do. I laughed out loud at #5. Exercise, though hard to start, once it’s in your routine, will make you feel so much better and have more energy for others things. Hummmm on your sweater issue.

    Comment by Mom ( Better known as Nana) | March 3, 2009

  2. I don’t like soy milk, either. My mom tried to convert me for a long time, but I just couldn’t acquire a taste for it.

    Good for you for sticking with it! :-)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | March 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

