Knit Lit

The one where I reclaim yarn

I had difficulty with Hank the Owl sweater.  The good news is that Mrs. S is willing to take it as an early birthday present.  Yea!  I was so intent on finishing Hank; I had not really thought about what I would work on after this project was done.  I grabbed up my Lady February on the way out the door yesterday.  As I was working on it at lunch, I noticed that the lace pattern in the arms was looking different than the lace in the body.  I remember thinking while working on the body that my lace was not looking very lace like.  I dismissed it, but now working on the arms and having them knit up properly, I was perturbed that the body was not the same.  I’m not going to say it was wrong.  It was a lovely pattern; but it was not lace, and it did not look like the arms.  I just did not want to work on it anymore.  Not to mention that it was about an inch too short.  I have no idea what I was thinking.  Sigh.

 

As I stared at my knitting baskets stashed around the room (I keep all knitting projects in the living room as not to forget about them.), I could not find one thing I wanted to knit on.  Not one!  I was frustrated with everything.  So, in a fit of project spring cleaning, I started pulling out all my WIP and chucked them into a pile to be frogged tonight.  That’s right! I have a date with my swift and ball winder.  To be honest, I feel as bad as I thought I would.  I often feel pressure to finish things. However, before, I had a narrow definition of the word ‘finish’.  Having a project that is just not working out and liberating it to its original state can be classified as finished.  Not to mention that it feels like I have all new yarn to work with. 

 

Now all I have to do is figure out why I have such problems with EZ patterns.  This is the second time I have tried to knit one of her patterns.  It is the second time I have ended up in the frog pond.  I will admit that I have a feeling the fault is all mine, though it true human form, I’m starting to think it’s not me but EZ.  I have successfully completed other patterns.  One look on Ravelry will definitely clear up that misconception.  There have literally been thousands of EZ projects out there that are truly lovely.  Groups and KAL have been created and dedicated to EZ and her patterns.  Obviously we don’t speak the same language.  Sigh #2.

 

I think the real problem is I get so excited to cast on new projects, I forgo the swatch.  In the past, this did not bother me.  I had no problem ripping a project back if it was not working.  I was a process knitter.  Now, I think I am becoming more of a product knitter.  I really want the finished product.  I get frustrated when it doesn’t work out. I’m sad to see all the work flying by me as my swift goes round and round.  I think I’m going to have to adopt a new policy.  I think that every new yarn that comes into the stash will immediately be swatched.   I usually over buy yarn for a project, because I have to add inches to compensate for my almost freakish height.  That would allow me to squinch a few yards for a swatch.  As I’m typing this, I just thought of a wonderful idea for the swatches, too.  Inspired by the quilts from the museum, I can make my own “crazy” quilt.  That is what they called the quilts that were made of spare scraps of fabric.  At first glance, they looked a mess, but when you looked at them longer, you realized that each little bit was probably a memory for the quilter.  I like the idea.  I also think it is a good carry around project.  And maybe, just maybe, it will cure my I-don’t-know-what-to-knit-now mood.

 

Well, I’m off to contemplate what yarn I’m going to play with first.

February 25, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting, Random, Yarn

3 Comments »

  1. I think that you are right on the money. It will be freeing and liberating to go swimming in the frog pond. My regards to Mr. winder and Mr. swift

    Also, what a great idea on the swatches. And you are right, ultimately, each one will remind you of the item that was knitted from that yarn. Sorta like a blanket of trophies. FABULOUS idea!!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 25, 2009

  2. I really need to do that with some of my stalled projects. Just rip ’em and try something different. Speaking of ripping, the hubby loves to help me do that. To him, watching all those stitches unravel is like popping bubble wrap. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 25, 2009

  3. My EZ baby surprise jacket is halfway finished tucked in a bottom dresser drawer. The vague directions perplex me. The only way I got as far as I did was to take a KAL class. Even then I was the only one with a confused look on my face. I would pay top dollar for someone to write out in long hand all her patterns. Who ever would write those out would totally capitalize on that- big $$ from all us confused knitters.
    I had a frogging party about a month ago, it was very liberating letting go of those pieces that I knew I would not wear even if I did finish them. I got rid of all the boring pieces, and decided to only knit things that really excite me.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | February 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

