Knit Lit

Disappointment, Irony and Wonder

It is a sad, sad day for Hank me.  I rushed home to check on the post-blocking fit.

2009-02-24-owl-sweater-2

I’ve been worried that my blocking was too severe.

2009-02-24-owl-sweater-3

I was able to get it over my shoulders this time, but sadly, it is still tight enough to be uncomfortable.  Le sigh.  If Mrs. S is interested, she may be the recipient of an early birthday present.

2009-02-24-owl-sweater-4

This cuteness will have me casting on another very soon.  I think I’ll have to go up 2 sizes in order to avoid such a severe block next time.  It took me just over a week to finish this one.   Hopefully I can finish this one just as quickly now that I know the pattern.

101 in 1,001 – #7

Yesterday started Vegan Week.  I am participating with two other people.  From everything they told me, their day was fine.  Mine was not so good.  My plan was to prepare most everything this past weekend.  However, I was quite busy on Saturday and really did not feel like doing much on Sunday.  I started yesterday off by running around town trying to find a yellow cake with chocolate icing.  It was a co-worker’s birthday, and I was given the task of buying the cake and ice cream.  Of course, the irony of buying treats I couldn’t eat was not lost on me.  So, i get to work, thinking I could put the cake in the kitchen and avoid it all day.  I get to my desk and find … Girl Scout cookies. Sigh.  Again, I was able to resist.  They quickly went under my desk, and they will stay there until next week.  During birthday time, I was good and had strawberries. So, here is my menu for the past two days:

Monday

breakfast: oatmeal & an orange

snack: Lara Bar (Since I’m not going vegan because of any animal rights reasons, I’m not going to worry about “trace amounts of dairy” found in some products.)

lunch: PB&J

snack: strawberries, natural popcorn

dinner: yoga soup (didn’t really like this one, so only took a few bites), cashews, Lara bar

Tuesday

breakfast: oatmeal & strawberries

lunch: 2 vegan veggie burgers, applesauce

snack: 2 vegan chocolate chip cookies

dinner: brown rice pasta with tomato sauce

So far, I really havn’t been bothered by the lack of meat or dairy products.  Even though I may not be so strict later, I have a feeling I may keep this up for a little while.  I can feel my body detoxing.  I have to confess, I still have been drinking my Diet Coke.  I tried to only drink water yesterday.  I ended up with a severe headache, and I ended up in the bed a full 2 hours before my normal bedtime.  I decided my body can only take so much at one time.  I will give up the chemical laden soda some other time.

101 in 1,001 – #56

The reason I was so busy this weekend was because of task #52 – Take Boy Child to the museam.  Mrs. S told me about the quilt exhibit at the Birmingham Museum of Art.  Since it was on my list, I decided now was a good time to go.  We had a blast!  We made clay pots in the Creek Indian exhibit.  We had lunch at the cafe.  Boy Child even liked the quilts.  I forgot my camera, but was able to take some slightly fuzzy ones with my phone.  If you are in the area, you need to go see this.  The quilts on display were crafted in Africa and Alabama.  The exhibit was designed to show the similarities in the craftsmanship.  All I know is they were stunning.

2009-02-24-quilt-1 2009-02-24-quilt-2 2009-02-24-quilt-4

This one made me want to take up quilting.

2009-02-24-quilt-5a 2009-02-24-quilt-5b

This one, however, is my personal favorite:

2009-02-24-quilt-6a 2009-02-24-quilt-6b

2009-02-24-quilt-6c

The rings were layered one on top of the other.  It was remarkable.  Actually, that word does not do it justice.  It was breath-taking.  I’m not sure I could ever do anything like this.  Anything that impresses a 9-year-old boy is worth seeing.  I wish this was a permanent exhibit.  I may have to go back this weekend with my camera.

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Finished, Knitting, Random, Yarn

3 Comments »

  1. First let me say that Mr. Owl turned out PRECIOUS!!! I’m sorry that it did fit you, but WHO HOO to Ms. S for her luck in scoring it!!! The next one should go even faster since you’re already don’t it once.

    Secondly, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the circle quilt! Kudos to you for taking grandson. So glad that he enjoyed it. He has a great eye and appreciation for beauty, just like you. I didn’t know about the making of pots. HOW COOL!

    Thirdly, VEGAN!!! You can do ANYTHING for just one week. I am encouraging you to strictly adhere to it. That way yo can say that you did it completely! You’re almost halfway there. Even if you only eat PBJ’s and oatmeal the entire week. You can do it!! Pat yourself on the back for being strong in the midst of all of those delicious temptations!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | February 25, 2009

  2. just one word for you BACON CHEESEBURGER!

    Comment by Buck | February 25, 2009

  3. Sorry to hear the blocking didn’t help. :-( Hopefully the second one will fit perfectly.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

