Knit Lit

Patience

Today was a test of my patience.  Strike that, today was multiple tests of my patience.  All day long I had to bite my tongue.  I’m surprised there is anything left!  Mostly I know that people are out there walking around not thinking about their actions.  I definitely know they do not think about how their actions effect others.  Mostly, I can just “grrr” and let it pass.   Today, I just wanted to shake someone or run away!  My mama raised me to think about others before I think about myself.  That is why I let people in front of me in traffic and at the grocery.  That’s why I try to be aware of people around me so I don’t bump into them, disturb them by talking too loud or by getting out of their way if I am walking/driving too slow.  I try to think about where people are coming from before I react to something they say or do.  It is a good thing I’m practicing taking a minute before I speak.  If I didn’t, the words ‘stupid’, ‘moron’, and ‘who do you think you are!’ would have come falling out of my mouth like raindrops in a monsoon. Like the Yarn Harlot, I can only imagine what kind of person I would be without my knitting.   That and Hubby are the only things keeping my mama’s teaching in my head.

Speaking of patience, I am going to have to stretch mine even further tonight.  I’m up to the yoke in my Hank-the-owl sweater.  I don’t have any US 9 dpns, so I’m going to have to learn Magic Loop.

This has been an enjoyable knit.  So far, since there is very little to think about, it has been especially helpful with helping me to zone out. (see above)  There isn’t much to see, but I’m enchanted with the cool copper/rust/orange color.

2009-02-17-owl-sweater

It has been chilly again here, and I’m hoping I will have a chance to wear it.

February 17, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting, Random, Work, Yarn

3 Comments »

  1. Gorgeous! You are such a fast knitter!!!! What color eye’s are you going to use???

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | February 18, 2009

  2. Magic loop isn’t too bad. :-) A little fiddly, but handy.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 18, 2009

  3. Your mama is very proud of her little teddy bear!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | February 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

