Knit Lit

Finding a new

After our lunch, Mrs. S went to a new-to-us yarn shop, Serendipity Needleworks.  She enjoyed it so much, I decided I wanted to check it out myself.  I did manage to find some great stuff.

2009-02-08-glass-needles

Look at the pretty, pretty needles.  They were one of the first things I picked up.  I put them down, because who needs glass needles?  I looked around, picked up, and petted lovely yarn.  I picked up the needles again.  They are so light and so pretty!  I put them back down.  About the fourth time I picked them up, caved.  They are so pretty!  Oh, and they come with a lifetime guarantee!  If they break or the cable comes apart, SN will ship the needles to the makers who will repair them and send them back.  Cool, hu?  They are made from the same glass as pyrex, so they should be pretty sturdy.

I also picked up a couple of skeins of Malabrigo in a lovely leaf green.

2009-02-08-green-malabrigo

Normally I would have left them in the basket, but I can’t ever find a green that will look okay with my skin tone.  Most greens make me look jaundiced.   This one is a perfect.

I also picked up this book to learn how to knit toe-up socks.

2009-02-08-new-pathways-book

I’ve got plenty of sock yarn, so I’m hoping this will help me knit it all up.  Well, except for a couple of skeins which I am hoping will become a couple of monkeys and frogs.

February 8, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting, Stash, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. I’ve looked at those needles, too, but I had no idea it was the same material as Pyrex! Makes me wish I had of bought some. :-) I just had horrible visions of a cat or 3 year old bashing them against the hard wood floors. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | February 9, 2009

  2. Weren’t they so nice?? I saw those too and I wanted the straights.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | February 9, 2009

  3. o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy, o’boy,

    Comment by Buck | February 10, 2009

  4. That sock book is INCREDIBLE! If you read ahead on the pattern it will confuse you. Take a leap of faith and knit it just as it is written. She is brilliant, pure genus. Do the test/baby socks in the front of the book prior to the others. Read it and knit it from the front of the book before tackling the grown up socks and magic will happen on your needles.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | February 11, 2009


Leave a Reply

