Knit Lit

Should v. Do

It just came to me today.  I give a significant portion of the item I knit away.  I always thought it was because I wanted people to like me.  Tonight, I realized it is actually because I have been knitting things I think I should like rather than things I actually do like.   It really hit home when I was looking at my Scrappy Lengthwise Scarf.  Like the Lady Elenore, I would never even think about giving it away.   However, today I gave away the Noro Silk Garden Diagonal Scarf I knit a couple of months ago.  I wear it frequently, today in fact; but someone commented how lovely it was, and I handed it over.  The first pair of Fetching gloves I knit went to my mother because she admired them.  I liked them.  They were fun to knit, but I don’t wear gloves.  I think I really need to think long and hard about what I knit in the future.  Maybe I should pretend everything I knit is for someone else.   I usually end up falling in love with things I knit for other people.  Le sigh.

January 8, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting

4 Comments »

  1. Don’t feel bad. I do that, too. I can’t think of how many pairs of socks have gone home with my Mom because she liked them. :-) Although, I think it just shows that you’re a generous person, so don’t be too hard on yourself.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | January 8, 2009

  2. Funny, for me if I don’t love it to death I don’t cast on for it. It is a rare thing for me to let go and give away anything I knit. After carefully crafting every single stitch, I just cannot let go of a “close friend”. (Even commissioned objects are hard to let go- I try them on an imagine they are for me)

    Comment by suzanne | January 9, 2009

  3. I agree with Bubblesknits. You are a very generous person. Tender hearted and caring just to name a few other outstanding atributes. And besides, you have such good taste…..I love everything you knit. How about a picture of the scrappy sccarf. Is it finished? NOTE: If the day ever comes that you DO decide to part with the Lady, I call DIBBS!!!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | January 9, 2009

  4. Duh! Yes, I admit that I haven’t been able to read posts for a few days. Had I, I would have already seen the aforementioned scarf. Might I just add….I LOVE IT!!!! A BUNCH!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | January 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

