Knit Lit

First FO of 2009

After making Hubby a new blanket out of 20 different colors of Cascade 220, I did not have enough of any one color to do much.  I was serously thinking of tossing the whole lot when I came across a great scarf pattern on Ravelry, the Scrappy Lengthwise Scarf.  It was a perfect match. 

dscf0099

I changed colors every row, and it came out in this great woven pattern. 

dscf0104

The best part is the wrong side looks almost as good as the right side.  These pictures are pre-blocking, and it really needs it.  The cast on edge is a little tight, and the bind off edge is a little loose, so it has a little ripple effect.  I think it will block nicely, though.  I also think it is running neck and neck with the Lady Elenore as my favorite project.

 

I also became an official Loopy Groupie!  I was so excited to find all kinds of extra stuff in my package.  The lovely elves sent along a free sock pattern, chocolate kisses, a great Loopy Ewe bag and this …

 

dscf0108

 

They really do spoil their customers.  I love ordering from The Loopy Ewe.  They are so thoughtful in everything they do.  There is always a little note of thanks on the shipping invoice.  They wrap the yarn in tissue, and more importantly in plastic. 

 

I never realized how important that wrapping was until I received my shipment from WEBS yesterday.  We had 5″ of rain.  The box was soaked, and not all the yarn was wrapped!  I would have been extremely upset if my yarn had gotten wet.  Luckily I had it shipped to my office for just this reason.  If it had been left at my house, 1/2 my order would have been ruined because of the rain damage.  I really wish WEBS would wrap loose skeins in some kind of plastic.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to continue having stuff sent to the office.  I have to admit it does perk up the work day.   

 

January 7, 2009 - Posted by | Finished, Knitting, Stash, Yarn

4 Comments »

  1. good looking scarf, will Jim wear a scarf?

    Comment by Buck | January 7, 2009

  2. it’s beautiful! I love the colors. Completely awesome FO :)

    Comment by preita | January 7, 2009

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! All your hard work on the blanket and you get a stunning scarf too!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | January 7, 2009

  4. Beautiful! I love the colors in it. :)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | January 7, 2009


Leave a Reply

