Knit Lit

Retailers obviously don’t watch the news

All I have been hearing the past several months is our “financial crisis” and how we are falling into a recession.  Stocks are down, and everyone is cutting back their spending.  Stores are being forced to close.  People are loosing their jobs.  Now in this economic climate, why would stores be stupid enough to discourage people from spending money in its stores?

Hubby and I wanted to purchase an item from a well known national electronics chain.  Lets call it B.B.  Yesterday, we saw this item we wished to purchse on sale.  It was out of stock online, but the site listed a nearby store as having this item instock.  Now, since this store is only 20-30 minutes away, Hubby called the store to confirm they had the item.  The person who answered the phone told him the store had 6 instock.  Since my office is closer, I left work and drove to the store and looked at the item.  Once I was satisfied, I told the sales associate I wished to purchase the item.  After about 15 minutes of searching for the 6 they had in stock, he proceeded to tell me that all 6 were on hold; but that one was on hold only through tonight.  He suggested I call first thing in the morning to see if it was picked up.

Now, my problem with this is two fold.  One, why would the person who spoke with Hubby not tell him these 6 items they had were not available for sale? Second, why would a store in this “economic crisis” pass up a sale to a real live person willing to spend money in their store for the possibility of a sale later that day?  Now, I could maybe forgive this situation.  I mean, national retail chains have their policies.  I can understand that.  I can even give the employee on the phone the benefit of the doubt that she did not know they were on hold.  I can overlook all that.  I really want this item, and B.B. has it for a really good price.  What blows my mind even further is that they would do the same thing the very next day!

Hubby called the same B.B. store this morning to see if the hold item was picked up yesterday.  He was again told that the item was in stock.  He drove all the way to the store and was told that they did not have one for sale.  Can you believe it?  Seriously, their profit margin must be astronomical if they can turn away not one but two sales in a 24 hour period.

B.B. is not the only store that needs to review how they treat their customers.  Because Hubby and I have decided we no longer wish to shop with B.B., I began looking at other stores.  I found a very similar item at another national retail chain, I’ll call W.M.  There were no stores within 100 miles had any in stock.  So, being the resourceful shopper I am, I looked in cities near my family.  There was one store near my mother.  I called the store to get a price and make sure there was one available.  I was transferred to the electronics department.  I told the lady who answered the phone what I was looking for.  She told me, rather rudely I must say, to hold.  Then she left me on hold for 10 minutes.  At that time, I hung up the phone.  They obviously do not need my business either.

Now, I want to shout every time I turn on the news.  We are obviously not in a recession if stores won’t take my money.

December 3, 2008 - Posted by | Random

3 Comments »

  1. that is crazy!

    Comment by goodbadandugly2 | December 3, 2008

  2. Okay…now you’ve got me wondering what the item was. lol

    Comment by Bubblesknits | December 3, 2008

  3. So is mom! So, spil it! Unless, of course, it’s for muea!!! (That’s “me” for the interpretive challenged)

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | December 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

