Knit Lit

I am green today

First, I did it.  I told the person at work I could not finish the project by Christmas.  I did not lie either.  I wouldn’t have been able to finish it.  I was not about to put that one ahead of my own Christmas knitting. My family always comes first.  So, I’m out of that.  Woo Hoo!

Second, I have been busy for the last little bit.  Remember that book I won from Crazy Aunt Purl.  It was this one.  It was one of the most eye opening things I have read in awhile.  It was the first time I heard about parabens.  These are the chemicals the beauty industry uses as a preservative in their products.  Now, I understand the need for preservatives in products.  However, what I did not know is this:

In the body parabens mimic our own hormones and disrupt the endocrine system. The hypothalamus, the ovaries, the thyroid-parabens affect virtually every system, even though their action is much milder than that of natural estrogens and other xenoestrogens (synthetic estrogens that mimic natural hormones).

Several years ago parabens, due to their estrogenic activity, were found to cause increased uterine growth in animals. The same study first linked parabens to proliferation of two estrogen-dependent human breast cancer cells. Two years later, parabens were found in breast milk and breast cancer tumors. British scientists found parabens in breast cancer tumors of 19 out of 20 women with breast cancer. (Concentrations of parabens in human breast tumours.Darbre PD, Aljarrah A, Miller WR, Coldham NG, Sauer MJ, Pope GS. Journal of Applied Toxicology. 2004 Jan-Feb;24(1):5-13. ) This study, actively criticized by chemical industry and synthetic beauty proponents, proves the ability of paraben preservatives to penetrate the skin and accumulate in living tissue, such as breasts.

The Green Beauty Guide

Can you believe it? They put that cancer causing materials in products we put on our bodies! Don’t believe me? Here is an example, Cover Girl Clean Foundation.  I was able to get the list of ingredients here.  Two yucky chemicals include Propylparaben and Methylparaben.  Yes the same ones that have been shown to cause cancerous cells.  All but 3-4 ingredients were either irritants or shown to cause bad things, including serosis of the liver. I had a nifty little chart that broke it all down, but WordPress ate it. Even Ivory soap contains Tetrasodium EDTA.  That contains formaldehyde! Not only is formaldehyde used to preserve dead people, it is a carcinogen linked to leukemia, pancreatic, skin, liver and lung cancer. Gross!

So, I have decided to eliminate synthetic chemicals in not only my beauty products but my cleaning supplies as well.  That’s right.  All my shampoo, conditioner, soap, and make-up went right into the trash. (I admit, I have kept my antiperspirant. I can’t sweat. Gross!)  I spent the weekend making my own products.

2008-11-24-beauty1

I am pretty satisfied with all of them, except the shampoo.  I used it for the first time today.  I loved the smell; however, it made my hair both dry and greasy if you can believe it.  Yuck!  I’m not giving up on making my own, though.  I’ll try another recipe after the Christmas knitting is done.  Until then, I’ll stick with this and this.  I’m also washing my face with this.  I have to say, I like it.

I’ve also learned that the best thing to clean oily skin with is oil. Yes, oil.  It helps dissolve the built up grime and excess oil that clogs the pores.  I’ve been able to make my own for pennies.  I’ve also made my own scrubs for face and body.  Again, it cost me pennies on the dollar.  The best thing is that I know everything that is in it and that the majority of all the ingredients are organic.

So, that is what I’ve been doing all weekend.  Next on my list is lotion and lip balm. Stay tuned.

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | Green

2 Comments »

  1. I love all the little glass bottles. :-) Reusable, too.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | November 24, 2008

  2. Have you been to the Golden Temple Grocery store there in 5 Points? They have all kinds of healthy/organic products too. They are on the same side of the street as the Starbucks going due west.

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | November 25, 2008


Leave a Reply

