Knit Lit

Knitters and bloggers and yarn, oh my!

I have thought a lot about how I am going to catch up what has been happening behind the scenes here at Knit Lit.  First, I want to apologize for neglecting my loyal readers.  It was not intentional.  busy/stressful life = no blogging.  Very exciting stuff/boring life = blog posting.  In order to insure some kind of continuity and clarity, I will share my most current life events in chronological order as not to place more significance on one moment over another.

First, I won something from Crazy Aunt Purl.

Can you believe it? I love to get free stuff, but I never seem to get anything good. No, I take that back. I get good stuff only when I buy something to get it. Other than that, it is all pens and notepads with the name of a bank/Realtor/doctor/dentist that I will never use. Except for now! I won a book from Laurie! It is a good book, too. I can not wait to learn all about making my own beauty products. Let’s face it, I can use the help. But I digress. I haven’t gotten to the best part., the e-mail. Laurie, aka Crazy Aunt Purl, herself sent me an e-mail. It was by far the best part. I love reading her blog. She is so funny, and in the way of true blog stalkers, I feel like she is my long lost friend. Hee!

Now since we have established that she is my bestest friend in the whole wide world, please leave her alone. She was sharing an amusing anecdote from her life. It was nothing personal against the whole state. It is customary to not give actual names without permission, hence the nickname. There was no indication that Miss Purl used this one person as a representation of an entire group of people. Common sense people! Now, I don’t normally leave comments, but now that she has had to close the comments in order to ward off all the stupid people, I suddenly want to comment.

 

Second, I started and finished a scarf.

 

Pattern: Multidirectional Diagonal Scarf

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden

Needles: US 10 ½

Started: October 6, 2008

Finished: October 8, 2008

 

This was a super easy project. It was mindless and quick. I think I might make another, or two, maybe three. I feel like I need to have something easy. It is pretty and looks harder than it actually is. Perfect.

 

Three, I drove to Huntsville this past weekend to Yarn Expressions so I could see Franklin. I was able to get into his 1,000 Knitter Project. I keep hovering over his blog to see if I was memorable enough to make it on his blog. He is super nice, and I am fairly sure I did not say anything stupid. If I did, I’m pretty sure there was no one nearby to memorialize my nervousness. I guess that is why I forgot to bring my camera. It was really a subconscious move on my part not to capture Franklin’s please-get-this-crazy-woman-away-from-me look. However, I clearly did not scare him enough, because I did get him to sign my copy of his book. Look:

 

 

Oh, oh! We got a gift from Interweave Knits, too.

 

There is yarn. There is always yarn, but this is special. As a matter of fact, it is my new most favorite yarn. I want to hug it and pet it and make it my own. And I did.

 

 

I can not even begin to express how much I love this yarn. It is so soft, and it has 549 yards in one hank. Yummy! Look at the color. Yummy! Will you keep reading if I keep gushing about this yarn? It is so yummy. I highly recommend it. I have no idea how it knits up, but it is so soft. Look at it! Yummy!

 

Even more exciting than the yarn and meeting Franklin is the knitting/chatting/lunch with Mrs. S. We have not been able to get together for knitting and talking in weeks, maybe months. Much, much fun was had by all, especially when she told me about Life Gem. Hello! A diamond made by your loved one is odd and awesome at the same time. I think Mrs. S is the only other person I know who would find it fascinating. I know Hubby was not too keen on the idea, but what he doesn’t know won’t hurt him, right? Hee!

 

Bye for now!

October 14, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Events, Finished, Knitters, Knitting, Yarn

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

