Knit Lit

Movie Review #1

I chose to start my movie watching (#63) with One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.  I was expecting the usual Jack Nicholson movie.  This is not one of them.  I would give a short synopsis; however, I seem to be the only one who has not seen this movie.  Besides the plot, characters, excetera, I am not exactly sure what to say about it.  The acting was wonderful.  The story was interesting.  I am not sure I liked it, though.  I know I did not dislike it, either.   The one thing that stuck in my head was that Nurse Ratchet was not nearly as mean as her name indicates.  Other than that, the movie was quite forgettable.  I guess that is why it is #33 on AFI’s list.  Than again, I am not sure why it is rated that high.

I just finished watching Bringing up Baby. It was a great movie!  I always thought of Katherine Hepburn as a very strong woman who only played strong roles.  In this movie, she plays a very romantic, slightly scatterbrained woman in love.  She is also beautiful, unlike any ‘celebrity’ of today.  Cary Grant is not only handsome but also completely lovable.  The movie is light and fun.  I highly recommend it.

Singin’ in the Rain is the same.  It is funny, even to my cynical mind.  It has the same light feeling as many of the movies in the same era.  I may be biased.  I love musicals.  It is a refreshing break from all the hard movies that are coming out now.

While I am loving the old movies, I am taking a break and starting on my Gilmore Girls binge.  I’ve finished the first disk of the first season.  Now, I am just waiting on Netflix to deliver my next disk.  I am pleasantly surprised and think this is going to be one of my better ideas.

September 25, 2008 - Posted by | 101 in 1001, Movies

1 Comment »

  1. I didn’t see what all the hoopala was about “One Flew Over….”either. Husband likes it, but that shoudn’t come as any big surprise. The other 2 you mentioned are 2 of my most favorite old movies. I can watch them over and over and never tire of either. K.H. has always been my icon of elegance and grace and as you stated…..strength.

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | September 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

