Knit Lit

I love the Postman, but I’m not giving him my scarf

I finished the Autumn Scarf last night.

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy

Colors: Autumn Harvest (gold) , November Muse (brown), In Vino Veritas (red), Gothic Rose (purple)

Needle: US 5 circular

I really love this project.  It is a perfect reminder of fall which happens to be my most favorite time of the year.  Fall reminds me of buying school supplies and new school clothes.  It reminds me of driving with the windows down and leaving the windows open in the house to feel the cool wind blow.  It reminds me of my first apartment, blue jeans and sweaters.  Fall is candy corn (which I only really eat in October), soup and cider.  Fall is pumpkins and reading by the fire.

Every year I relish the short time Alabama lets us have the mild temperatures.  I love seeing the leaves change; though I have to be quick, or I will miss it.  I am most happy during this time of year.  It is the time I recharge from the 100° F summers.

Among all the happy feelings, I have a new best friend.  I don’t know his name, but he brings me my mail every day.  Look at what he brought me today:

I am so excited to get started on this book.  I enjoyed her first book of essays.  She has a way of making me laugh that few people can.  Even fewer can make me laugh out loud while reading a book.  Maybe this is why I have such a hard time talking to her.

I was not sure I was going to like this book when I first read about it.  I was very surprised.  I want to make almost every single thing in this book.  On the top of my list is …

I have seen so many chic women wearing these, but I could never find one I liked for me.  Now, I can have one of my very own.  I even have the recommended in my stash!  I guess that means I can cross of #27 if I do get around to knitting it.

Last but not least:

I have only had a chance to skim this one, but look …


I know it is hard to tell in the photo, but words are worked across the back of her sweater!  That is so cool.  I think I would have too much trouble deciding what to put on mine.

September 24, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Finished

1 Comment »

  1. A great pairing……A beautiful scarf on a amazing women.

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | September 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

