Knit Lit

Where I talk about what I’ve been reading

Everyone who knows me knows my love of knitting is almost as intense as my love of reading. I can not remember a time I did not love it. I also tend to favor series reading. I get so wrapped up in the story, I am always reluctant to leave the characters. In a series of novels, you can stay in the lives.

Several weeks ago, I came across a writer by the name of Joanne Fluke. She writes the Hannah Swanson Mysteries. I was all set to not enjoy them, but the books are wonderful. They are entertaining, humorous and very well written. One of the best things is that all the characters are human. They are not overly dramatic or fake. The main character, Hannah, owns a bakery in the small town where she grew up. She is unmarried, in her late twenties and lives with a one-eyed cat she rescued. She is slightly overweight from sampling her own creations, but she is also entangled in a love triangle. She also, to the dismay of her mother, has a habit of finding bodies. Yes, you read that correctly, bodies. That is where the mystery part come in. Fluke does a wonderful job of developing the stories of the people in this town. Every character has his/her own storyline. It is this talent that makes the mystery part so interesting. Unlike other mysteries I have read where the author brings in two outsiders to be the villain, Fluke seamlessly integrates new characters that may or may not play a part in the solving of the crime. I have read 7 of her 10 novels and have not yet been able to figure out for certain ahead of time whodoneit. This is amazing considering I can usually tell you roughly halfway through. A bonus is the recipes Fluke includes in the books. Whatever Hannah is making in the story, Fluke includes the recipe. It is not just one or two. The one I am reading now, Cherry Cheesecake Murder, has 14. If you are looking for a good, often funny, mystery, i would highly recommend reading these books.

I also have in my hot little hands the new fall knitting magazines. I have to keep telling myself that I need to concentrate on my Ravelympics projects, but look at what is tempting me …

Vogue Knitting

While I will probably not knit them because I do not wear mittens, these are absolutely beautiful!

I also fell in love with these …

Interweave Knits

All I have to say is Yum, Yum, and Double-Yum!

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Magazines

3 Comments »

  1. FOCUS, Grasshopper!!!! Stay the course!!!! Party on, dude! Right off the top of my head, these clique movie quotes are being used to encourage you not to get distracted by YUM, YUM and DOUBLE YUM!! Orange hoodie sweater reminds me of one of the characters in the X-Men. Don’t know their names. Love….LOVE the one next to it!

    Go TEAM!!!

    Comment by Mom (better known as Nana) | August 14, 2008

  2. Have you made any of the recipes? I copied a bunch but I haven’t tried them yet.

    Comment by Emily | August 14, 2008

  3. Emily, I have not tried any of the recipes, yet. I think I may try one this weekend. I just finished the “Peach Cobbler Murder,” and I have not had a good peach cobbler in a long time. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Comment by hallmarkknits | August 15, 2008


Leave a Reply

