Knit Lit

I am so mad I could spit!

I was going to post my finished pictures of my Natalya gloves, because, yes, I did finish. I may have even posted photos of my Lady February sweater, which I have already had to frog 2 inches of because I can not count. I can not bring my self to do either because of the email I received before I left the office.

The following is taken from Wikipedia.

It was about Irena Sendler. She was a Polish Catholic social worker in World War II who helped save 2,500 Jewish children from the Warsaw Ghetto by providing them with false documents and sheltering them in individual and group children’s homes outside the Ghetto. She organized the smuggling of Jewish children from the Ghetto, carrying them out in boxes, suitcases and trolleys. She hid lists of their names in jars, in order to keep track of their original and new identities so that, when the war was over, they must be returned to Jewish relatives. In 1943, Sendler was arrested by the Gestapo, severely tortured, and sentenced to death. Żegota saved her by bribing German guards on the way to her execution. She was left in the woods, unconscious and with broken arms and legs. She was listed on public bulletin boards as among those executed. For the remainder of the war, she lived in hiding, but continued her work for the Jewish children. After the war, she dug up the jars containing the children’s identities and began an attempt to find the children and return them to living parents.

Now, the reason I am mad:

In 2007, Sendler was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. The 2007 award, however, was presented to Al Gore, former Vice President of the United States, and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change for for “efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.”

This is a serious injustice. This is a bunch of hooie! The Nobel Peace Prize may be awarded to persons or organizations that are in the process of resolving a conflict or creating peace. Now, it is well documented that there are varying opinions whether “man-made climate change” is valid. I will not go into this topic. But the fact is there is debate. I will give it a pass on the whole resolving a conflict thing; however, I would not define this research is peace creating.

I find it hard to believe that anyone would dispute the fact that Sendler’s efforts were in fact an effort. She had her legs broken and was sentenced to death for those efforts. They were definitely conflict resolving and peace creating. So why would any one choose Al Gore (Mr.-I-invented-the-Internet) over Irena Sendler?  What has he sacrificed for conflict resolution and peace?

July 22, 2008 - Posted by | Random

1 Comment »

  1. PREACH IT!!!!! I’m with you on this one!!!!!!! But, Ms Sendler won the biggest gift of all over 2500 times. The gift of life she gave to 2500 children. What legacy. As a tribute, I REFUSE to let the IDIOTS of the world over shadow her accomplishments. I’m speading the word.

    Comment by Mom (Beter known as Nana) | July 23, 2008


Leave a Reply

