Knit Lit

Smooth or stubbly

I’m in the shower this morning shaving my legs.  Yes, I know, this is a very odd statement to start off a post, but please stay with me here.  So, I’m shaving my legs, and I began to think about who was the first woman who shaved her legs.  Why did she do it?  And who was the genius man that decided that this was the standard for beautiful women.  ‘Cause lets face it, for an almost 6 foot woman, shaving legs takes a long time.  When you throw in shaving underarms, I spend a substantial amount of time in the shower.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like to bathe, but I also like to do other things, like sleep and knit.

In the past, I posed this question but never followed through.  Now, with the internet at my fingertips, I did what everyone else does to find the answer.  I Googled it.  The very first article that popped up was this one.  Now, if this article is to be believed, it was Harper’s Bazaar in 1915 that started this whole nonsense of having to shave. You know why? Because they thought clean shaved underarms looked better in the pretty spring dresses they were showing that year. One fashion magazine, that’s right, a fashion magazine decided that women should shave under their arms.

Also, it was allegedly Betty Grable in WWII that prompted women to start shaving their legs.  Now, I am not sure I believe this one.  I do not think that women truly believed that it was patriotic to shave their legs.  The only way I would believe that is of some weird X-Men genetic leap took placed and made all the women stupid.

This article says women have been removing hair as early as 4000 B.C.

I think women every where should band together and announce that men are not desirable unless they have smooth legs and underarms.  I say, what is good for the goose is good for the gander.

June 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

