Knit Lit

Marching to the Finish Line

So I frogged the Dollar and a Half Cardigan and started this one.  I think in the end it will be a better choice.  I am in love with the yarn.  It is great to knit.  The large cotton content keeps it fairly cool to knit in the 98° F heat that afflicts the south in the summer.  I do have to confess that I have already started and ripped this one back once, too.  In my defense, I automatically cast on for size L.  Given that I am almost 6′ tall, that is pretty much a given.  In this case, I need to knit a size M.  Not such a big deal as I was only about 4″ along. I am now about 8″ along.  So far so good.

I went to the library last weekend.  I checked out a bunch of books and found the Lady Eleanor Entrelac Stole in one of the books.  Now I am intrigued.  I really want to make this stole.  However, I really want to make it in that yarn.  There is a problem.  I do not have $360 to spend on this yarn.  Yes, it is $360!  I know I love it, so I should just splurge, but come on! $360?!?!?!?!?!?!? I just can’t.  It does not pass the Question 1 or 2 test.  I so would feel guilty about spending that much.

One more thing.  I love Ravelry.  A couple of years ago, I was in Charlotte, NC and found a really great yarn shop, Stitch Fine Yarns.  It felt like a cozy library or living room.  It had deep couches and great yarn.  At the time, I did not understand that you really need to purchase the highest quality yarn you can afford.  So, I was only using Wal-mart and Hobby Lobby yarn.  The most I had spent on a single skein was like $4.  Well, I was amazed that there was a whole shop dedicated to yarn, first.  Second, I saw a cute, well, it was sleeves with a turtleneck attached.  I fell in love.  I am very hot natured, so I thought this would be great to pair up with my 1 million tank tops. I told the clerk I wanted to purchase the same yarn in the same colors.  The pattern was in Scarf Style, but I did not want to buy a whole book about scarves, so I just jotted it down.  I had them wind the yarn for me.  Like all good knitters, they tucked the call band into the wound cake.  When they told me my total was $82, I about stroked out.  i carefully put away the yarn.  There was no way I was going to knit $82 dollar sleeves.

Well, now that I know better and have a whole room for my yarn and my other yarn, I pulled out the yarn.  There were no ball bands and no pattern.   I have no idea where they went, so the skeins stayed in the yarn room on display.  I was browsing around Ravelry.  I saw it.  The pattern for the sleeves I had seen in North Carolina.  Once I found the pattern, I started looking at the projects from others.  I saw it again.  The sleeves in the same colors, teal and camel.  I think it was the mock up I saw in the shop.  It was so cool to not only find the pattern but the yarn as well.  Yeah Ravelry!

June 6, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

