Knit Lit

Movies and me

So, Friday afternoon I took a long lunch and went to the movies. Yes I did. I went to work, went to the movies, and went back to work. I think this was the most fun I have had in a very long while. I feel such pressure to be sociable all the time. What I have lost in the rush to be they type of person I think I “should” be is the fact that I like my own company. I like being alone. In fact, if I was to be truly honest, I like being alone more than I like being with people. Well, I love being with my husband, but I am not sure I include him in the “people” group as it relates to this post. I like shopping by myself. I like seeing movies by myself. I like eating by myself. I think this is the ultimate freedom for me. Those times I have to myself are great. For that brief time, I do not have to worry about being anyone’s mom, wife, daughter, or friend. I can just be me. I love this time.

I think everyone should do it. There is great power in being able to do “couple” things alone. It means that you can be comfortable in your own skin. I challenge everyone who reads this to go to the movies or dinner alone this weekend. If you can’t this weekend, do it by the end of the summer. It is a great time to go alone. There are plenty of guy/gal movies coming out that you want to see but your significant other doesn’t. Go see that movie. Have popcorn you don’t have to share. Have the candy you want. One tip, though. Be very careful how much soda you drink. If you have left your loved one behind, there is no one to tell you what happens when you go to the restroom.

On the knitting front, I have two Summer Cardigans knit, but still no photos. I have started the Dollar and a Half Cardigan from Interweave Spring 2007 three times. Yes, you read correctly. I have started it three times. During the movie Friday, I finished roughly 8 inches. Shortly thereafter, I pulled all out. It is my fault. I saw a project on Ravelry that used stockinette stitch in place of the lace. I like the way it looked, and I am not one for lace. Once I got going, though, it started to bother me. So, I started it again with the lace pattern. Apparently I can not read a pattern, because I totally botched it up unless there is some unusual lace out there with no holes.

So far, I think the lace panel is okay. I’m not sure I am doing it correctly, but I guess it is fine. I think it will look good. I am using Cotton Fleece in New Teal. The color is great. I got it on sale at Little Knits. It was an off color, so I hope I am going to have enough. It is going to be a little tight. They are out now, so I don’t know what I am going to do if I run out. Oh well, I am a risk taker.

I have also come to the realization that I have been knitting for 4 years. In all that time, I have very little for myself. I give almost everything I knit away. Hats, socks, blankets, scarves, arm warmers, baby stuff … all given away. The very first sweater I knit (well, the only one that actually fits a normal human being) I traded for a Fossil purse, so I guess it all worked out in the end on that one. This year, I have already knit and gifted a baby sweater, baby blanket and two pair of socks. So, for the rest of the year, I have decided I am going to only knit things for myself. However, I will admit that there are a few exceptions to this decision. Christmas tradition calls me to knit one hat and one pair of socks. Also, there is one or two things my dear husband may receive only because I have the yarn stashed and the patterns are new and interesting. Even these may not be cast on. It depends on how I feel.

I do not feel at all guilty about my decision. For me, that is a big thing.

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. i agree on the “me time” that is one reason I play golf by myself so much.

    Comment by Buck | June 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

