Knit Lit

Tuesday Tapdance

Have you ever gone on vacation and the simple act of getting away from your life actually mess up your life. Well, not mess up your life it a major bad way, but you know in a I am now two minutes behind in my life kinda way. That is where I am at this moment. Only, I think I might be two hours behind. So, to combat this, I am not even going to attempt to post anything remotely coherent. I think I will go the list/photo/I am going to ramble route.

1. There is a big stray cat problem in St. John. They are called ferry cats. The local vet will capture these cats, spay or neuter them, and release them back into “the wild.” The locals encourage visitors of the island to take them home. There was a cat that came to our villa on the day we arrived. She stayed with us the whole week. If our return travel had not exceeded 12 hours, this little sweetie would have come home with me…

We never did settle on a name, but she is awesome! The first night, I picked her up into the hammock with me. The next morning …

… she took a nap in the hammock by herself! How cool is that? I so wish we lived closer! : (

2. I did knit.

This sweater is almost done. i am picking up the button band tonight. It is a machine washable cotton linen blend, so hopefully it will get worn tomorrow. And photos will be posted soon.

3. I have the power to hold the sun.

4. James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series is pretty cool. If you have not listened to this series, you should really give it a shot. Also, Catherine Coulter’s FBI series rocks. This is a must listen, too.

5. Anthropologie has really great clothing. I picked up a sweater on sale the other day. It fits like a dream, and it has butterflies all over it. I fell in love so hard I tried to convince myself that a greenish yellow color would not make me look jaundiced. Unfortunately, a co-worker made me realize that it wasn’t going to work. It quickly dawned on me, though, that I am a knitter. I can replicate it. Oh yeah. Here is my inspiration.

(this photo is borrowed from the Anthropologie site. It is no longer there, but it may be available on a sales rack at your nearest store.)

I went today to my LYS and ordered yarn for it. I am going to try it in Cotton Fine. I get hot easily, and I want to be able to wear it alot. I have also decided to knit it in a neutral to allow the colors of the butterflies to really shine. I don’t think I am going to have a contrasting bands, either. We will see.

That is all. Thank you.

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Does this mean that the sweater might be gifted to mom? Hint Hint

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | June 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

