Knit Lit

I’m taking my needles and going home.

The EZ Baby Surprise Jacket and I are no longer friends. I am not sure we are acquaintances or even people who smile at each other every day on the bus/elevator/cafeteria. I think it has now become my Vinegar Man. I know! I know! I should not let a pattern beat me. I should work through it. I will get it some day. Uh hu. After the 15th time of having to chase down a dropped stitch and the 6th time I had to reworking a stockinette patch, I could not bear the idea of working on it one more minute. I am done! Finished. The needles have been removed. The half finished jacket has been pushed to the bottom of the knitting basket. It has not been frogged and rewound into a ball, but it will be soon. We are in a time out right now. I am hoping that in a few days, okay weeks, okay months, I will be able to pick it up again.

Just to be perfectly fair to Ms. EZ, I am not giving up on the pattern completely. I am hoping that the Lorna’s Laces sock yarn may have been a little small to start a new pattern. I am gong to give it another shot with a worsted weight. I had some left over Lion Brand Wool-Ease in a pretty pink from before the decision to purchase the best yarn I can afford. Most non-knitters appreciate a washable wool anyway. The intended recipient also has three other small children, so I would not even think about a hand wash yarn. Surprisingly this yarn knits and washes up very soft. I’ve heard that it gets better with each wash.

So far so good. I was able to cast on the correct number of stitches on the first try. I am only six rows into the pattern, but it looks like it is going okay. I typed out a note card. If I can not make it work this time, I think I may be hopeless.

It is Tuesday. That means NCIS will be starting soon. I love me some NCIS. Happy knitting to you all.

May 6, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

