Knit Lit

Getting started.

For me, knitting is a fairly new love (obsession). One day 4 -5 years ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to knit. I’m not sure what prompted this desire. I have younger cousins who knit, but it was not an activity that I was exposed to on a regular basis. However, anyone who knows me, knows that once I set my mind to something, I won’t stop until I get it done.

I walked into my local Wal-mart and purchased a how-to book, needles, and acrylic yarn. For the next 4 months, it was a daily ritual of looking at the book, trying to wrap my mind around the directions, tying knots in the yarn, and throwing the whole thing across the room. It would stay there until the next day until I would try it again. I am persistent, and I do not like failing.

Finally, it clicked. I got it. I could knit! That Christmas, I made several scarves and a blanket for my then boyfriend (now husband). All were made from acrylic yarns. It was also the year that started the first Christmas knitting tradition – the hat. After the first how-to booklet, I purchased Debbie Stoller’s Stitch ‘N Bitch. (I wish I had learned from this book. There would probably have been less yarn throwing.) In that book was a pattern for a really cool skull cap that did not look too difficult. That was my first project that was not a square. It came out pretty good, and it found a home with my brother. Viola! A new Christmas tradition.

I also have another obsession that dates back as far as I can remember. I love to read. I always have a book with me. To me, a book is a way to escape. I know that if I have a book, I will never be bored. The first books I can remember are the Boxcar Children, the Trixie Belden books and the Nancy Drew books. I wanted to be Nancy Drew. I read all the original books I could find. Then, they began to publish the modern version. I read all those, too. I think it was around 150 books by the time I grew out of them.

I remember times that my childhood friends would want to play something I didn’t. I would get my book, sit in the corner of the playground and read. It used to drive them crazy. I think it used to drive my parents crazy, too. I never really minded getting sent to my room or having television privileges taken away. I always had my books. A good parent could never tell their child not to read, so it was really, really difficult to punish me.

Now, I carry a book with me everywhere. More often than not, I have several books going at the same time. I can manage three at a time. After that, it gets a little difficult. Right now, I am reading Sue Grafton’s, S is for Silence and Dean Koontz’s Forever Odd. I just finished the audio version of Dean Koontz’s Seize the Night. I am just discovering Dean Koontz. I have read so many books, it is hard to find a writer that can surprise me. Koontz is one, most of the time.

I don’t have specific criteria on the books I choose. I believe that books are to be enjoyed. Whatever type of book makes you happy is the kind you should read. I’m not sure anyone should get caught up in what they think they “should” be reading. Personally, I don’t think that when Shakespeare, Jane Austin, or Ernest Hemingway wrote for people to study their writings. I think they had a passion for the written word. I think they had stories in their hearts that needed to be told, so they told the story. I think that most of the “great” writers would be appalled at what is going on in lit classes all over the world. I think they just wanted people to hear the story, not spend hours analyzing why he/she used the color red for the protagonist’s shirt. Come on people. It is a story.

January 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

