Knit Lit

Empty knitting bag

Saturday I was running out the door to go shopping. I showered, got dressed, and packed up my purse. Yes, I am one of those people who change out her purse so it “goes” with the outfit. Though, sometimes I dress according to what purse I have all my stuff in, because it is a pain in the boohonkus to change out. Anyway, I finished packing up my purse and picked up my knitting bag. There was nothing in it! I had nothing to knit! Confession # 2:

I am a monogamous knitter (usually). I am so anxious to know what my project will look like, I can not stop knitting it. I know, I know! The photo at the start of a pattern should be an indication of what the finished object will look like, but with my knitting, not so much.

Confession # 3: (boy, I sure do confess allot for someone who is not Catholic!)

I do not swatch. There, I said it. I do not swatch. I have good reason, though. I don’t mind fogging my projects. I just cast on and go. If it doesn’t look right after a couple of inches, off the needles it comes, and I start over. See. That is why my projects are such a mystery and why they are so compelling to me.

Back to the fascinating story, “Why There is No Knitting in the Knitting Bag” –

I finished the Fetching Mitts and was looking for something a little bigger. I love quick projects, but after Christmas gifts, which for me are usually quick and easy) I was looking for something more substantial. So, Friday night I went stash diving. I came up with 10 hanks of Atacama (100% alpaca) by Araucania I bought on sale from my LYS months ago. This was perfect, because I got to use my Christmas presents from my parents and lovely husband – a brand new swift and ball winder.

(I can’t get the pictures to load. Imagine a tabletop swift handmade in maple and a Staunch Jumbo Ball Winder.)

These are great because I don’t have to clamp them to a table. I can sprawl out on the floor in front of the television and wind to my heart’s content.

So, I started winding up my pretty little yarn cakes and noticed that they all didn’t look the same. They were different colors! I looked at the bands. Yup! I bought 6 hanks of color 509 and 4 hanks of 506. In my defense, they look the same on the band. And they were 50% off! I was seduced by a sale! I really, really wanted to make a sweater with this yarn, but 6 hanks was not going to cut it. I thought if I alternated colors, it would be okay, so I cast on for the Mrs.. Darcy Cardigan (http://indieknits.wordpress.com/patterns-2/patterns/). No, it does not look good. Give you three guesses what I did. Yup. I frogged that puppy and went to bed.

This brings us to Saturday. I eventually went shopping without any knitting. Is it wrong that I felt like I was going out in the world naked? So, when I am back at home, I again go back to the stash looking for a project. This is pretty easy since I have a habit (now) of purchasing yarn for specific projects. And placing them in a bag with the pattern. I know, I’m odd. That is beside the point. I was looking for a new project. I finally decided on the Cozy V-Neck Pullover with Deep Ribbing from Stefanie Japel’s Fitted Knits. Months ago I ordered Knit Picks Swish Superwash (in Copper) for this project. Even though it is 72° Alabama right now, I really love the color. I’m also missing the gorgeous fall leaves. I know I’m probably not going to be wearing this anytime soon (I am very hot natured), but it is an easy knit thus far. All is looking good, you know, considering I don’t swatch.

I had pictures, but they are not loading correctly. As soon as I can figure it out, I will post pictures of my awesome ball winder and swift … oh, yeah, I will show pictures of the sweater, too.

January 10, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

